GameSpot may receive revenue from affiliate and advertising partnerships for sharing this content and from purchases through links.

Call Of Duty: Black Ops 4 Bringing Back Nuketown With A Twist

The iconic map is returning for Black Ops 4.


Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 developer Treyarch held a multiplayer livestream today during which the studio showed off new footage and made some announcements. We learned that Treyarch is bringing back classic Black Ops maps Jungle, Slums, Summit, and Firing Range for Black Ops 4. These maps have been "rebuilt from the base level," according to Treyarch.

Additionally, and perhaps more excitingly, Treyarch also confirmed that the popular Nuketown map from the original Black Ops will be in Black Ops 4--but not right away. The map, which has been reimagined with a different twist, will launch in November, free for all players.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Call Of Duty: Black Ops 4 - Multiplayer Reveal Trailer

Nuketown was featured in Black Ops II and Black Ops III as well, each time featuring a different look and vibe than the original. It appears Treyarch will be adjusting the map again for Black Ops 4, but we don't know what that will look like as of yet.

According to CharlieIntel, the three previously announced Black Ops 4 maps--Contraband, Seaside, and Payload--will be playable at E3 2018. A new one that was announced today, Frequency, will be playable as well. For more on Black Ops 4 multiplayer, check out the gameplay video embedded above.

Black Ops 4 launches on October 12, which is a few weeks earlier than usual for the Call of Duty franchise. The game is coming to PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC, and we are expecting to see and learn a lot more about the shooter at E3 2018 next week.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 6 comments about this story