Call Of Duty: Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta Extended, Now Features 100 Players

Here's what's new in the ongoing battle royale beta.

8 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Call of Duty Black Ops 4 Blackout Beta Extended With 100 Player Cap


Related
Call of Duty: Black Ops 4
Follow

Call of Duty: Black Ops 4's private Blackout beta has been underway on PS4 for the past several days, and now it's expanded to Xbox One and PC as well. Developer Treyarch continues to implement gameplay tweaks and other changes as the beta rolls on, and a new batch of adjustments have now gone live. [Update: The Blackout beta's end time has been extended until 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 8 PM BST. Additionally, Treyarch has updated it to now support 100 players in a single match.]

As the studio detailed on Reddit, both the Xbox One and PC Blackout betas will start off supporting 80 players, just as the PS4 version originally did. The PS4 beta, meanwhile, will maintain its recently increased 88-player cap. Treyarch says it will continue to test different player counts for the betas in order to optimize the mode before Black Ops 4's release next month.

In terms of gameplay tweaks, Treyarch has increased the amount of damage players sustain inside of the collapsed area. Additionally, the cargo plane that flies in supply drops now has more health and won't take damage from bullets. While using the wingsuit, players can now no longer gain altitude at high speed, and Treyarch has slightly increased how long it takes to pull up from a steep dive.

The developer has also implemented a number of bug fixes. One that would cause multiple players to spawn in the same spot in the Staging Area has now been resolved, as have others that would cause players to get stuck on the map. Additionally, the developer has fixed various issues with collision and the recently added killcam.

On September 15, the Blackout beta will expand to all PC players with a Battle.net account. Players on all platforms will be able to participate in the beta until 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET on September 17. Call of Duty: Black Ops 4 is scheduled to launch on PS4, Xbox One, and PC on October 12.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 8 comments about this story