Black Game Developers Showcase Kicks Off Indie Digital Events

Later this month, viewers can check out games by black developers with The MIX's first digital event of the year.

29 Comments

Event promotor Media Indie Exchange (The MIX) has announced some of the digital events it will hold throughout the year, starting with a celebration honoring Black History Month.

Starting on February 25, The MIX will host the "Game Changers: Celebrating Black Developers" livestream. It'll feature a showcase of games created by Black developers, with Black Twitch creators and industry professionals holding 1-on-1 chats with marginalized game makers. The following day, February 26, will see the "Black Voices in Gaming Showcase." Presented by Humble Bundle Games, this livestream continues the "Game Changers" broadcast. It'll also feature a special emphasis on Humble's Black Game Developer Fund and a sponsorship through Kickstarter. Both presentations will be streamed on Twitch's Gaming channel, with "Game Changers: Celebrating Black Developers" going live at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET on February 25 and "Black Voices in Gaming Showcase" starting at the same time on February 26.

The MIX also outlined its March event, which runs from March 13-14. Called Game Dev Direct, the event kicks off with a two-hour broadcast starting at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET on March 13. Then at 11 AM PT / 2 PM ET is a livestream presented by Paradox Interactive, which will feature an “inside look” at upcoming titles from the Sweden-based publisher, including new trailers, reveals, and interviews with developers from affiliated studios like Another Indie and Headup.

Finally, in June, is the Guerrilla Collective. This livestream, which hasn’t been dated, will house news and reveals from a variety of developers and publishers. Details about this event will be announced soon, The MIX said in a press release. Once the event kicks off, demos of many of the revealed games during the Guerrilla Collective livestream will go live.

The MIX 2021 Digital Events

  • February:
    • Game Changers: Celebrating Black Developers, February 25 at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET
    • Black Voices in Gaming Showcase, February 26 at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET
  • March:
    • Game Dev Direct, March 13-14 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET
  • June:
    • Guerrilla Collective, currently undated

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 29 comments about this story