Big Battleborn Update Unlocks All Characters, Adds PS4 Pro 4K Support

Born again?

23 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Battleborn - Review

Struggling multiplayer shooter Battleborn is getting a big winter update, publisher 2K has announced.

The biggest change is that all 25 core characters will now be unlocked for all players after completion of the prologue. Character unlock challenges will now simply grant you a new skin, while a new training dojo lets you try out every hero against AI-controlled minions, to get the hang of each one's foibles.

PS4 Pro support will also be introduced, with players able to choose from either a 1080p / 60 fps mode, or 4K / 30 fps.

Draft Mode, meanwhile, is a cool-sounding new mode where each team takes turns choosing which heroes they want on their team--and which they want to ban the other team from picking. Other changes include increased currency rewards (so it's now quicker to buy loot).

No release date has been specified for the update, though developer Gearbox will be showcasing the changes in a livestream on December 8 at 10pm GMT / 2pm PST / 5pm EST.

Though Battleborn has not sold particularly well, Gearbox promised to support the game with DLC and updates--and so far, it's delivered. New story missions and extra characters have attempted to keep the game fresh for those still playing.

We enjoyed the hero shooter here at GameSpot, with critic Scott Butterworth awarding it a 7. For more, check out our full Battleborn review.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 23 comments about this story