Battlefield 5 Updaate 6.0 Patch Notes [Now Live]

Here's exactly what to expect from the next big Battlefield update.

2 Comments

DICE recently gave an overview of the new Battlefield 5 update, Chapter 6: Into the Jungle. Now as the release day approaches, the studio has given more detailed patch notes. The 6.0 update is now available to download on PS4, Xbox One, and PC, but the new content will go live on Thursday, February 6. It adds a new map, several new weapons, and a new elite commander. Here are the big highlights of what to expect later this week. [Update: Chapter 6 is now live on all platforms, introducing a bunch of new content to check out. More detailed patch notes have not yet been released, but you can get a good idea of what changes have been implemented below.]

As previously detailed, the new map is the jungle of Solomon Islands. It's full of choke points, connected by a river that runs the entire length of the map. It will also add the Type-11 LMB, Model 37 Shotgun, and M2 Carbine, along with the M1A1 Bazooka and Lunge Mine. Those will unlock through the Chapter Rank rewards, and if you hit Rank 40 you'll also get the Elite commander Misaki Yamashiro.

Two more elites, Steve Fisher and Akira Sakamoto, are coming later in the chapter. The studio teased that "many more" changes and fixes are coming in update 6.2, which will include a big change to weapon balance. We also know that tank customization, a long-requested feature, is finally on the way.

Battlefield 5 - 6.0 Update Availability

  • PC: 1 AM PT / 4 AM ET / 9 AM GMT / 10 AM CET
  • PS4: 2 AM PT / 5 AM ET / 10 AM GMT / 11 AM CET
  • Xbox: 3 AM PT / 6 AM ET / 11 AM GMT / 12 PM CET

You can check out the patch notes below, but take note that these are not yet fully comprehensive. Expect DICE to release more in-depth patch notes closer to release.

Battlefield 5 - 6.0 Patch Notes

What’s New?

  • New Map: Solomon Islands, available on Conquest, Breakthrough, Squad Conquest, and Team Deathmatch

  • New Weapons: Type 11 LMG, Model 37, M2 Carbine (available via Chapter Rank Rewards)

  • New Gadgets: Lunge Mine, M1A1 Bazooka, (available via Chapter Rank Rewards)

‏‏‎Vehicles

  • Removed the impact of track disable on initial acceleration. This allows for tanks with disabled tracks to escape; however, medium and high speed performance are still heavily impacted.

  • Increased the critical angle from 10 to 20 degrees to better match the visual feedback of having a good angle on an opponent. It was too difficult to tell if you were going to get a critical hit, this increases the margin.

  • Increased the range of the AA and AT HMGs to match the coax.

  • Fixed Panzer 4 AT round only having 4 shells.

‏‏‎ ‎Maps and modes

  • Mercury - Players spawning on tanks will no longer unintentionally end up on foot.

  • Operation Underground - Fixed a rare bug that could stop the attacking team from spawning on Breakthrough.

  • Outpost - The player no longer remains stuck if the tower is destroyed while the player plants it.

  • Wake Island - Decreased the number of tanks to improve map balance on Breakthrough.

  • Wake Island - Players will now be able to deploy even if their squad gets wiped during the last sector on Breakthrough, while playing as the US.

‏‏‎ Weapons & Gadgets

  • Grease gun - We’ve made some subtle tweaks to the Suppressor audio to better separate it from the experience when firing the weapon unsuppressed.

  • AP Mine - Fixed an issue that was causing the AP mine to not do damage to infantry in Firestorm.

‏‏‎ Weapon Balance

The following changes have been applied to the bolt action rifles muzzle velocity on the Recon class:

  • Ross Rifle: From 600 to 750

  • Type 99: From 600 to 750

We’ll be performing a more substantive pass on our Weapon Balance in our next update for Assault, Medic, and Support. Thank you for all of your feedback on this topic.

‏‏‎ ‎UI & Others

  • Spotted enemies are no longer represented as arrows on the minimap and do not show the direction (they're now back to diamond shapes).

  • An option to modify the strength of snap zoom has been added for players on Console.

  • Fixed a bug that was causing the “Vehicle Buster” combat role to not unlock for some players.

  • Fixed a bug that would show the Deploy screen visible on squad screen after leaving pre-round.

  • Fixed the incorrect wording in the Type 2A Mastery IV assignment.

‏‏‎ Stability

  • Online server connectivity improvements that in some rare cases could drop a player from a server 30 seconds after joining it.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Battlefield V – "Into the Jungle" Update Overview Trailer

$9.99 on Walmart
Buy

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story