Battlefield 1's Free DLC Map Now Available for Everyone

Everyone can now play Giant's Shadow.

4 Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: Battlefield 1 - Official Giant's Shadow Trailer

Battlefield 1 players have a new map to check out today, as the free Giant's Shadow arena is now available for everyone. It launched earlier this month for people who own the game's season pass.

Battlefield 1's servers were offline for an hour today on all platforms today as DICE performed maintenance and released Giant's Shadow for everyone. Xbox One servers may still be affected, as the maintenance began at 4 AM PT / 7 AM ET and is expected to run until 5 AM PT / 8 AM ET.

Giant's Shadow puts players into the Battle of the Selle in the fall of 1918. Its name comes from the fact that a massive airship crashed in an open field and is casting its shadow over the battlefield. Watch the video above to see Giant's Shadow in action.

Battlefield Premium subscribers get a two-week headstart on all Battlefield 1 expansions, meaning they got to start playing Giant's Shadow on December 6.

No Caption Provided

There is currently a Giant's Shadow-only playlist in Battlefield 1, so you can go there if you want to check out the map right away. The expansion also adds a new weapon, the crossbow grenade-launcher, to unlock.

Just this week, DICE shared the first details on the game's They Shall Not Pass expansion, which comes out in March. Get all the details and see a gallery of concept art here.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 4 comments about this story