Battlefield 1 Dev Details Free "Giant's Shadow" DLC Map

The deadly armored train is featured on the map, which comes out in December.


DICE has shared some new details on the Battlefield 1 map Giant's Shadow, which will be released in December for free to all players.

As detailed on the game's website, Giant's Shadow puts players into the Battle of the Selle in the fall of 1918. Its name comes from the fact that a massive airship crashed in an open field and is casting its shadow over the battlefield.

No Caption Provided

"The British forces have broken through the Hindenburg line and are now in pursuit towards an important railway center," reads a line from the description. "Fierce infantry and tank engagements ensue on the open ground and river banks alongside the Cateu-Wassigny railway."

This map, like Sinai Desert from the Battlefield 1 beta, will feature the armored train. This train is outfitted with deadly weapons and, if used properly, can turn the tide of battle.

No images for Giant's Shadow have been released, except for the teaser art above.

All of the Battlefield 1 maps announce so far can be seen below.

  • The St. Quentin Scar
  • Sinai Desert
  • Amiens
  • Monte Grappa
  • Empire's Edge
  • Giant's Shadow (coming in December)

In addition to the on-disc and free map, DICE will add more arenas to Battlefield through its various DLC packs. The first of these, They Shall Not Pass, comes out in March 2017. In all, DICE will release four expansion packs, adding a total of 16 new multiplayer maps to the game.

All of this is included with the $50 Battlefield 1 Premium pass. For more, check out GameSpot's previous report about everything that comes with the pass.

Battlefield 1's beta wrapped up last week, with a record-breaking 13.2 million people taking part. The full game comes out on October 21 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC.

$7.50 on Amazon
$8.24 on Walmart

GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 25 comments about this story