At Least One E3 2020 Press Conference Is Still Happening

Limited Run Games is still going live on June 8, the day before E3 2020 was supposed to be held.

2 Comments

Limited Run Games, the physical game distributor that was first to announce its E3 2020 press conference, is still going forward with its "totally-live" presentation despite the event's cancellation.

The company took to Twitter to confirm that "the show must go on" and said Limited Run Games Live, the company's third annual E3 livestream, will be held on June 8 at 12 PM PT / 3 PM ET / 7 PM GMT. It's said to feature "the biggest announcements in the future of physical games" and goes live on LRG's official Twitch channel.

While LRG's livestream is confirmed, the physical game distributor isn't the only company looking at digital experiences in lieu of a physical presentation now that E3 2020 has been canceled due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19). Xbox boss Phil Spencer said the company will hold an "Xbox digital event," while Ubisoft is exploring "other options for a digital experience" to bring news directly to its fans. The ESA itself, the organization responsible for the annual trade show, said E3 2020 may continue as an "online experience."

Though E3 2020 is taking a year off, the ESA intends to bring the event back next year. When E3 returns in June 2021 it will be "a reimagined event that brings fans, media, and the industry together in a showcase that celebrates the global video game industry," according to the ESA.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: E3 2020 Is Officially Canceled - GS News Update

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are 2 comments about this story