Assassin's Creed IV, The Last of Us nominated for 2014 Writers Guild Awards

Other titles nominated include Batman: Arkham Origins, God of War: Ascension, and Lost Planet 3; winner will be announced on February 1.

No Caption Provided

The Writers Guild of America has announced the nominations for outstanding achievement in writing for video games for this year's Writers Guild Awards that will be held February 1, 2014. The nominees are:

To be considered, the game must have been released between December 1, 2012 and November 30, 2013 and credited writers needed to have been members of the WGA Videogamer Writers Caucus.

If Assassin's Creed IV: Black Flag wins this year, it will be two straight victories for Ubisoft, as PlayStation Vita game Assassin's Creed III: Liberation won last year. In 2011, Ubisoft also won for Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood.

2014 marks the seventh year of the Video Game Writing Award, which honors "outstanding achievement" for writing in games.

Of course, the Writers Guild Awards also honor the television and movie businesses, among others. AMC's Breaking Bad is nominated for best drama, while Martin Scorsese's The Wolf of Wall Street has been nominated for best adapted screenplay.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Watch live streams, videos, and more from GameSpot’s summer event. Check it out

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 90 comments about this story