Amigo sambaing Sept. 23, DLC to follow

Gearbox's remake of Sega's classic Latin-flavored rhythm game Samba de Amigo will begin to boogie next month; title will be first Wii rhythm game with downloadable content.


GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

One day after Fallout 3 was dated, another of 2008's more anticipated games has been put on the calendar. This afternoon, Sega announced that Samba de Amigo, the forthcoming Wii remake of its arcade and Dreamcast classic, will ship on September 23 in North America. In Europe, the E for Everyone-rated title will ship several days earlier on September 19.

Announced late last year, Samba de Amigo is being developed by Gearbox Software, the Texan shop best known for shooters such as Brothers in Arms and the forthcoming Aliens: Colonial Marines. Originally set for release this spring, the Latin-music-themed game will swap out its original maraca peripherals in exchange for the Wii Remote. Several players can use one or two Wii Remotes or opt for a Wii Remote/Nunchuck combo to control the Sombero-sportin' monkeys onscreen.

Sega used the ship-date announcement to reveal the game's full song list, which will include more than 40 tracks. Among these will be 21 tracks from the original Samba de Amigo, including Chuck Rio's "Tequila," Ritchie Valens' "La Bamba," and The Gypsy Kings' rendition of "Volare." The game will also include 20 new tracks, including War's "Low Rider," Santana's "Oye Como Va," and Miami Sound Machine's "Conga." Among the new tracks are several non-Latin hip-shaking offerings, including Harry Belafonte's "Jump in the Line" and Deee-Lite's "Groove is in the Heart." Roughly three-quarters of the songs will be cover versions.

Last but not least, Samba de Amigo will also be the first Wii title to offer downloadable content. The first track pack will launch day and date with the game, and will contain three songs: Lou Bega's "Mambo No. 5," Bow Wow Wow's "I Want Candy," and Jet's "Are You Going to Be My Girl?" Pricing for the pack has yet to be finalized.

A complete track listing for Samba de Amigo is below.

Original Samba de Amigo tracks:

Vamos a Carnaval – WaveMaster*
Volare – Gypsy Kings
Hot Hot Hot – Arrow*
Salome – Chayanne*
Tubthumping – Chumbawumba*
The Cup of Life – R. Martin*
Samba de Janeiro – Bellini
Mambo Beat – Perez Prado*
Livin' La Vida Loca – Ricky Martin*
Bamboleo – Gipsy Kings
Take On Me – Reel Big Fish
El Ritmo Tropical – Dixie's Gang*
Macarena – Los Del Rio*
La Bamba – Ritchie Valens*
Tequila – Chuck Rio*
Soul Bossa Nova – Quincy Jones
Samba de Amigo – Bellini
Gonna Fly Now (The Theme from Rocky) – Bill Conti*
Mas Que Nada – Jorge Ben*
Sway – Gimbel and Ruiz*
El Mambo - Solemar

New Wii-Exclusive Songs:

Baila Me – Gipsy Kings
Papa Loves Mambo – Perry Como*
Mambo No. 8 – Perez Prado
Conga – Miami Sound Machine*
Low Rider – War
Mambo No. 5 – Lou Bega*
Oye Como Va – Santana*
Asereje – Las Ketchup*
Arriba Allez – Bellini
Magalenha – Bellini and Mondonca Do Rio
Ran Kan Ran – Tito Puento*
Groove is in the Heart – Dee Lite
Jump in the Line – Harry Belafonte*
Do it Well – Jennifer Lopez*
Como Ves – Ozomatli
Cha Cha – Chelo
Pon de Replay – Rihanna
Smooth – Santana*
Mexican Flyer – Ken Woodman*
Borriquito – Charo
Un Aguardiente – WaveGroup
Solo Tu – WaveGroup
Tango With Me – WaveGroup

* = Cover version.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are 29 comments about this story