Amazon Prime Day 2019: What Deals To Expect In The US

Come prepared for Prime Day.

Tap To Unmute

Want us to remember this setting for all your devices?

Sign up or Sign in now!

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: We Play Skyrim On Amazon Alexa

Amazon Prime Day 2019 sale began at 12 AM PT / 3 AM ET / 8 AM BST / 5 PM AET on Monday, July 15, starting a full 48 hours of deals from the retailer. It's set to end on July 17 at midnight PT / 3 AM ET / 8 AM BST / 5 PM AET. That makes this the longest-running Prime Day since Amazon started the sale event in 2015.

At midnight, Amazon kicked began a major sitewide sale on items ranging from video games and technology to baby gear and patio furniture. The only catch is that you have to be an Amazon Prime member to take advantage of the deals--but seeing as most people can get a month of Prime for free, that's hardly a barrier to entry.

Though Prime Day is a 48-hour sale, the deals are constantly rotating, with some things going on sale for only a limited time, and other sales only getting revealed once they've begun. Here's a cheat sheet on the different kinds of deals that pop up during Amazon Prime Day 2019, so you'll know what the rules are (and how fast you have to act) to snag the things you want at the best prices you can get.

We're rounding up the best deals, specifically of the gaming variety, throughout the sale. Plus, see more of what we've expected from Prime Day 2019, and check out our sister sites CNET, Chowhound, and Entertainment Tonight for their coverage of the best deals in tech, beauty, food, home, and more.

Early Access Deals

No Caption Provided

Last year, Amazon released deals leading up to Prime Day to get people excited, and many countdown deals have been available again in early July. Amazon devices were among the first products to go on sale as Early Access deals (big surprise), so if you're in the market for an Echo Show or Amazon Fire TV Stick, you won't have to wait much longer for those discounts, which may be as much as 50% off. You can check out some of the Early Access deals from 2018 below.

Spotlight Deals

These deals run for 24 hours and can take place during the lead-up to Prime Day or during Prime Day itself. Remember, though, that Prime Day 2019 will run a full 48 hours, so not all Spotlight Deals will last the whole duration of Prime Day.

Prime Day Exclusive Deals

These are deals that run the entire duration of Prime Day. Keep in mind that it's still possible to miss out on them if they go out of stock.

Lightning Deals

Often the best deals Amazon offers on Prime Day are limited-time, limited-stock Lighting Deals. These can run out of stock fast, so the best way to keep up with them is through the Amazon app on your iOS or Android phone. You can get a sneak peek at the day's Lighting Deals by pressing "Today's Deal" in the top left app menu, then the "Upcoming" tab. Find a deal that you want and tap "Watch This Deal" to get notified when it starts. Happy deal hunting!

See more Amazon Prime Day 2019 coverage:

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story
Loading More Images