Activision's rockin' Fantastic Four

Taking Back Sunday, Jurassic 5, The Explosion, and Go Betty Go provide new tracks for each of the Fan Four.


GameSpot may get a commission from retail offers.

Activision has announced that four bands have created original songs for its upcoming game Fantastic Four. The game is slated for a June 27 release on the PlayStation 2, Xbox, GameCube, PC, and Game Boy Advance. Santa Monica-based Seven Studios is developing the console versions, Canadian developer Beenox Studios is working on the PC version, and Australian studio Torus Games is developing the GBA version.

Each of the four bands were commissioned to write a tune for the game's four lead characters. The songs will debut over the next few months in online trailers for the game.

Alterna-rockers Taking Back Sunday wrote "Error Operator" for stretchy Mr. Fantastic. And LA-based hip-hop group Jurassic 5 throw down "Clobberin' Time" for rock-solid The Thing, Boston punk outfit The Explosion light up The Human Torch with the appropriately named "I'm on Fire," and all-girl rockers Go Betty Go chime in with "Everywhere" for The Invisible Woman.

The Fantastic Four game is based on the Twentieth Century Fox film of the same name, which opens July 8 in theaters. In the film, which stars sultry Jessica Alba and directed by Tim Story (Taxi), the four superheroes use their individual talents together to take down supervillains such as Dr. Doom.

Fantastic Four debuted as a Marvel page-turner back in the early '60s. The four titular heroes, Reed Richards (Mr. Fantastic), Susan Storm (The Invisible Girl), Ben Grimm (The Thing), and Johnny Storm (The Human Torch), gained their unique powers after being bombarded by cosmic rays during a space flight.

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story