A New Pokemon Mobile Game Is In Development

Gotta make 'em all.

Comments
Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Now Playing: A New Mobile Pokémon Game Is In Development - GS News Update

Pokemon Sword and Shield might have already been announced, but we now know there's another new Pokemon game on the way from DeNA. The Japanese developer, which has partnered with Nintendo on a number of smartphone games before this, says it plans to launch a new mobile Pokemon game in the coming months.

"[We] plan to launch a new and exciting smartphone game this fiscal year based on the globally popular Pokemon franchise in partnership with The Pokemon Company," DeNA stated in its latest financial report. "More details, such as information about the game and launch timing, will be announced later." The current fiscal year ends on March 31, 2020, so we can expect the game to launch before then.

DeNA has previously made a number of games for Nintendo franchises, including Super Mario Run, Animal Crossing: Pocket Camp, Miitomo, Fire Emblem Heroes, and the upcoming Mario Kart Tour. However, the developer has not been involved in any of the existing mobile Pokemon games, such as Pokemon Duel, Pokemon Shuffle, and Pokemon Quest.

Pokemon Sword and Shield are also due to launch in the next few months: no release date has been announced, but they're scheduled to be released in 2019. We might learn more during Nintendo's E3 2019 Direct presentation, which kicks off on June 11 at 9 AM PT / 12 PM ET / 5 PM BST (2 AM AET on June 12).

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story