3DS Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions omits save overwrites

[UPDATE]: Namco Bandai confirms key code giving users ability to delete data, including for high scores, unlocks, and achievements.

Comments

Related
Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions
Follow

When Capcom shipped Resident Evil: The Mercenaries 3D for the 3DS, it didn't take long for owners of the game to fall over themselves to complain about the game's lack of save-overwrite functionality. That uproar notwithstanding, it appears as if Namco Bandai has forgone the ability to reset save data with its new 3DS release, Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions.

Don't expect to have dueling high scores in Pac-Man & Galaga Legions.
Don't expect to have dueling high scores in Pac-Man & Galaga Legions.

First reported by Wired's GameLife blog and confirmed by GameSpot, Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions does not let users overwrite or delete save data, including for high scores, level unlocks, and achievements. This is true across all six of the included Namco Bandai games: the original Pac-Man and Galaga, Pac-Man Tilt, Pac-Man Championship Edition, Galaga 3D Impact, and Galaga Legions.

Namco Bandai had not responded to a request for comment on the matter as of press time.

When Capcom made the decision to omit save-overwrite functionality in The Mercenaries 3D, the publisher maintained that the move was not made to address used-game sales or piracy.

"Essentially, RE: Mercs was treated like an arcade fighting game," Capcom said. "You unlock characters, levels, etc., and they just stay unlocked as they would in an arcade machine. There was no hidden motive to prevent buying used copies. It's not some secret form of DRM. It's simply the way we designed the save system to work with the arcade type of gameplay."

For more on Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions, check out GameSpot's review.

[UPDATE 8/2]: A Namco Bandai representative today released the following statement regarding the game's save-deletion capability:

It has recently been reported that Pac-Man & Galaga Dimensions for the Nintendo 3DS system lacks an option to erase data that has been saved to the game's cartridge. I wanted to inform everyone that saved data can be reset by holding the A, B, X, Y, L, and R buttons when booting up the game from the 3DS system's home screen.

Please use a html5 video capable browser to watch videos.
This video has an invalid file format.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email news@gamespot.com

Join the conversation
There are no comments about this story