Warframe Beta Impressions

#1 Posted by poypoy72 (25 posts) -

I have a lot of experience with beta testing, as I've tested everything from small indie titles to big time triple A titles so I know what to expect during and after beta.

To me, warframe looks nice, it uses the great use of lighting and shadows to make the back of your warframe (its a third person action game) look pretty neat. Other than that, everything is looks poor. The enemy models, the map textures and map design are hideous. I have played through the entire campaign that this beta as of January 17th offers and I've seen the same 4-5 maps over and over and over. Its about 50+ missions of the SAME map designs and textures, maybe a little green and blue here and there but its the exact same thing every time.

There are probably less than 9 different enemies, and they all behave incredibily dumb. THIS might have to do with beta, but the lack of enemy types is something to worry about. Enemy types isn't a "beta thing", they all behave and their gameplay is exactly the same. I'm pretty sure the devs aren't going to completely redesign all the enemies, and if they do, its the first time I've seen it. My best guess is, if they recycled the same maps and missions dozens and dozens of times, varying enemies isn't a concern. It would actually break emersion even more being on the SAME exact ship as when you first started the game only now with new enemies. Thats just dumb regardless.