Play
Please use a flash video capable browser to watch videos.
00:00:00
Sorry, but you can't access this content!
Please enter your date of birth to view this video

By clicking 'enter', you agree to GameSpot's
Terms of Use and Privacy Policy

Review

PES 2014 Review

  • Game release: September 24, 2013
  • Reviewed:
  • X360

PES 2014 moves ever closer towards simulation, and in doing so forgets exactly what makes the series so different and so much fun in the first place.

PES 2014 is an odd beast, a strange hybrid of its straightforward arcade roots and the ever-growing complexity of the FIFA series. In some respects, this complexity is warranted; never has a PES game looked quite as realistic as 2014 does. And for the most part, it plays well too. But that realism comes at a price. For all the flashy animations and physics tweaks that have been added, some of what makes a game of PES so direct and so much fun has been lost. This is very much a case of two steps forward, one step back.

That much is clear as soon as you start passing the ball around. Where PES has always been about snappy passing and a feeling of direct control over players, 2014 adopts some of the automated nature of FIFA, but without the technical prowess to back it up. A lot of it is down to some lousy AI implementation, which means that passes often don't go to the player you want, because the game seemingly thinks it knows better than you. Then there's the addition of sloppy first touches, which theoretically offer a more realistic representation of how players perform in the real world, but leads to frustration when all that stands between you and a world-class strike is a well-placed pass.

Knocking down some of the assist settings helps to alleviate the messy AI somewhat, and if you're particularly dextrous, you can control players off the ball to. But the inconsistent AI rears its ugly head again when you're trying to set up goals, with players making runs down the pitch in all the wrong places, or failing to chase down the ball when you need them too. These frustrating moments aren't frequent enough to ruin the experience entirely, but when you find yourself yearning for another bash at last year's game, clearly something has gone awry.

When it does all come together, though, PES 2014 can be a wonderful thing. Zipping down the right wing to launch a well-placed cross, or ducking through the midfield with a killer through ball, is nicely fast-paced and, at times, edge-of-your-seat thrilling. Finishing those manoeuvres remains as tight as ever, with a real feeling of control as you expertly blast a shot past the keeper and into the top corner of the net. The excellent jockeying and tactical positioning in defence, the dribbling system, and the shot modifiers all make a welcome return, too, with improved player-contact animations seeing players fight for the ball--and lose it--in a much more compelling way than before.

Tying the on-pitch action together is the much-lauded Fox engine, which is also powering the upcoming Metal Gear Solid V. PES 2014 certainly looks a little sharper than previous PES games, but don't expect a huge graphical overhaul here. Instead, the focus is on player emotions, with new facial animations resulting in some uncanny representations of joy, despair, and frustration as keepers are beaten, posts are hit, and offsides render a once-beautiful goal meaningless. Sadly, the frame rate takes quite a hit during these moments, as well as during match buildup and replays, which is incredibly jarring against the otherwise smooth play on the pitch.

There's another emotionally charged feature in PES 2014 called Heart, which tracks and displays players' emotional states and changes their performance based on elements like how many shots they make on target or how much the crowd is getting behind the team. So, for example, if you're playing away, the lack of a home crowd to cheer the team on means they perform worse than at home. Unfortunately, it's tough to tell the difference between an emotionally uplifted team and one that's down in the dumps, making Heart a firm idea, but not an essential mechanic.

Elsewhere, PES 2014 remains way behind FIFA in terms of online and offline modes, as well as its overall presentation. Many of the modes remain unchanged from last year, including officially licensed tournaments such as the UEFA Champions League and South American Copa Libertadores tournaments. The new addition is League mode, although it too remains largely unchanged from the version in 2012. (It was not included in PES 13.) Master League Online and Become a Legend do see some tweaks, including the ability to pick from three different playable leagues in MLO, each with a different attacking and defending style, and the option to play as a keeper in Become a Legend and bark orders at your team from afar.

The objective in MLO has switched from trying to create a profit to concentrating on building the best team with a fixed budget. Other tweaks include the ability to manage national and international squads in the Master League, as well as use players created in Become a Legend in online matches. None of these tweaks make these dated modes any more compelling, and they absolutely pale in comparison to the likes of FIFA's huge online leagues, EA Sports Football Club, and Ultimate Team. In a feature that has been a long time coming, you can at least now play in full 11-vs.-11 matches online.

This is a game that tries to straddle the line between arcade action and sublime simulation and never succeeds at either.

Where PES 2013 could get away with some less-than-stellar modes thanks to some excellent on-pitch action, 2014 can't pull off the same feat. There's still lots of fun to be had blasting goals out on the pitch and taking on friends online, but not as much fun as last year, despite some additions that should have made it more so. The awfully garish menu system and painfully repetitive commentary certainly don't do it any favours either. This is a game that tries to straddle the line between arcade action and sublime simulation and never succeeds at either. PES is at its best when it's selective with its realism: here's hoping next year it can go back to doing what it does best.

The Good
Fox engine sharpens up the visuals
Impressive new facial animations
Can still provide a fun game of football
The Bad
Frame rate issues during match buildup and replays
Single- and multiplayer modes horribly dated
Inconsistent AI makes passing and setting up goals tricky
Awful commentary
Loses some of the direct control and feel of previous games in the series
6
Fair
About GameSpot's Reviews

About the Author

Mark is based in the UK, where soccer is known as "football", and from where he's been reviewing FIFA and PES for the last three years.

Discussion

685 comments
RobDev
RobDev

WTF do they waste time an dresources working on facial animations and the crowd, get the core game right!

Hellcanwait
Hellcanwait

I would score pes 14 even lower a 3 at best.

what the hell did they do to the master League its gone, nothing left...


soulfly2
soulfly2

The game is so bad on the ps3, i got me the platinum then traded it in for the ps2 version, and the gameplay is more fun. Fifa 14 on the ps4 is the ultimate football game, much better than ps3/360 versions, but not so great for co op.

hienben
hienben

PES 2014 is a better game than Fifa for a number of reasons. After playing Fifa for so many years I got sick of the robotic gameplay and the scripted AI. Having played and coached football for many years I was frustrated by the lack of creativeness and fluidity provided by the Fifa series. This year I made a switch and I glad I did. At first it was frustrating, I was so use to the Fifa control system but something made me keep on trying with PES, there is something special about it. Now that I am use to the PES controls I can say it's the closest simulation of football ever created on a console. Of course it lacks some of the licences of the Fifa brand but in terms of gameplay it is way ahead. I don't want to convince anyone to buy this over Fifa but some of the negative reviews on here are obviously written by noobs who have never played the real game, this includes the Gamespot reviewer who has no idea what he is talking about. FYI, there is a healthy PES community that laugh at Fifa. I for one will never buy another Fifa game. PES Rules!

deadpeasant
deadpeasant

Having now played the game I can't understand why Mark gave it a 6. Its very disappointing compared to the games of PES glory days... Master league is the biggest let down for me. It's far too simplified and has lost all of the magic that it used to have. The frame rate for cut scenes is the worst I have seen this generation and reminds me of my Commodore 64 days. The on pitch gameplay is still quite good but that really doesn't make up for everything else.  

sa18
sa18

WTF is this PES? i wont buy this PES, my friends wont buy this PES! this game sucks! I wont buy FIFA and i wont buy a FIFA wanna be! I want to play a different game than FIFA! PES was fun now is becoming robotic and retarded, If FIFA and PES are the same why even care about PES? its like NBA Live and NBA 2k, 2k never tried to be NBA Live, they got it and they won, what a better game that is! Stop making this mistakes! where are the all Classic Players? why they keep cutting that section down? why they keep streamlining the game? what a crapy crapy PES this is! you are ruin the only soccer/football game i play with my friends! 

APOCALYPS01
APOCALYPS01

I m fan pes but this is stupid game.this is not footbal simulator.i buy fifa14 and I sell stupid pes sheet

silenassassin
silenassassin

great game, not for button mashers.... reviewed by a dude who doesn't have a genuine football sense or hasn't been exposed to the PES franchise before.... get your insights right before you impose your shitty opinions....

renc21
renc21

KONAMI stealed 35€ from me, this is not a game it's something coming from the ass. Pre-order my ass, give me my money back, and fix the gameplay or give us steam key for pes 2013!

mickolopi
mickolopi

Worst pes ever... I even don't play fifa, but this is disaster...

01brs
01brs

I can't trust this reviewer's judgement. He must be very biased!

Fifa 14 = 8.0 ???? Seriously!??? It is the worst soccer game I have ever played... Unbelievable! 

FriendBear
FriendBear

Honestly, I agree with Angel_Boy - This is one of the worst PES games ever.  I've always preferred the Pro Evolution series over Fifa, but this edition is just terrible.  I always play the "Become a Legend" mode which to me, is where the main fun of the game is for me.  And 2014 is just bad, it just feels heavily dumbed down and just not fun, especially starting a totally brand new player - spending most matches benched without any chance to play is stupid, try to transfer to another team with better match chances and so far, negotiations have broken down each time - yet my goal scoring record is very good.


Its back to 2013 for me, this game for me - ruined the series.

junikram
junikram

even with all the bugs and glitches in pes 2014, i still could not stopped playing, this game is so addictive, its the best game ever at least to me

Angel_Boy_La
Angel_Boy_La

This is thwe worst PES EVER! I dont know what is worst: commentary, referring, all the game itself. The only good thing in this game is graphic and nothing more. As a big PES fan, I m very dissapointed, but I hope that next PEs will be better.  I would rather play fifa 98, then this game. 3.5/10 (I am back playing pes 13)

murfish
murfish

i managed to play 23 minutes of 14 and have put 13 back in my ps3. 14 is pathetic.

0-NGN-0
0-NGN-0

pro evo 14 plays a good game of football , BUT it lacks everywhere else.

kaizeric
kaizeric

i didnt expect so bad review for PES14, well they had to ruin it sometime

Horndawgie
Horndawgie

I have both games. For content and presentation FIFA is hands down the better game. Gameplay is subjective but there are many flaws in this game. Camera is a mess-wide mode and custom cam can't zoom out far enough and blimp cam is too far. Camera has a hard time keeping up with the fast paced gameplay. Many times I have taken shots on goal and can't even see the goal at all from where it should be seen. Same on defense. I found myself on the receiving end of some crazy goals from the penalty area where I couldn't even see my goalie.

Gameplay is exciting, deep, and challenging but faster arcade pace than FIFA this year. I will keep both but this game really is not worth 60 bucks, considering the lack of content that you won't hear fanboys talk about, yet constantly bash EA for 'nothing new'. And yes, there is plenty of 'scripting' in this game. It feels at times more scripted than FIFA. Perhaps more exciting play than FIFA but overall still lacking and no excuse for lacking better presentation and modes.

PES  7.0/10

FIFA  8.0/10

Kusann
Kusann

I hated it, not a FIFA fanboy or whatever. The UI is a damn disaster, having to "click and drag" a player for a substitute is tedious and slow, not being able to select a preset formation: 4-4-2, 4-1-3-2, whatever and having to accomodate the players by clicking and moving them from one side to another, GOOOD! This same UI puts thousands of terms which aren't explained at all (one-touch management or something and other stuff which I never understood). Sadly it doesn't end there, on the pitch it's like watching a 6-years-old kids playing, they all gather around the ball, your own teammates get in the way. Suddenly you recover the ball without knowing what the hell you did, try to pass it and the AI decides to pass it to the farthest, most marked man. Konami focused too much on graphics. They made me hopeful about this game and made me think I was going to be able to change from FIFA, telling us about a "never before control of the players and the ball" but it doesn't, it falls too short. 

For worse, it's not even fun. When you play FIFA in World Class, you are thrilled and concentrated not to concede a goal, when you play PES even in mid you get bored, I've been playing soccer sims forever, my best result so far has been 2-0, screaming for the match to end because I was so bored.

D_S_e_V_e_N
D_S_e_V_e_N

Awful - All this talk of next-gen engine, the players feel like they are skating on ice. The passing is light and unconvincing and overall feels utterly unrealistic. I actually feel physically disgusted when I play it, especially when I read all the positive reviews which imo are written by people that from previous experience I know not to believe. The reality is this game is terrible and they have made a supreme hash of the franchise. 2013 was excellent but this is a travesty, and it ain't just a few "occasional AI issues", the programming feels like it was written by a small child with an interest in FIFA.

AVOID THIS (horrid) GAME (shambles).

2/10

Dunk1970
Dunk1970

This is a poor review by someone who repeatedly states they have a background of preferring FIFA over the years. He touches on topics, but bias has prevented him tweaking enough of the game to make it play accurately for him. Where the reviewer rates the game down for "inconsistent AI", he should be praising the game. Players don't make the same runs all the time and there are player stats which see some players make better runs than others as well. FIFA has always been formulaic since its conception (yes I go back that far). Once you learn an effective style of attack in FIFA, you can usually repeat it ad nauseam. 

The defending in FIFA is also not very realistic. By default it plays as man-to-man. This does make the game very tactical, but ... not in a football way. Anyone for FIFA Chess - LOL. The reviewer clearly needs to spend much more time tweaking the settings in PES and watching the training videos, which show how to trap the ball in a fluid action as well as showing  how to perform flicks over and turns around the defender marking you. 

Also, the massively editable nature of PES is a major plus for the franchise, which goes noticeably unmentioned. The immersion level of playing as LFC with "You'll Never Walk Alone" and over 20 other specific chants pumping out from the crowd (each of which can have its volume adjusted) randomly and at specific points (eg when you score) is fantastic.

Also, where PES has the licence for the European cup competitions, the reviewer forgets to mention that this is huge mode that FIFA doesn't have and even tried to make it sound stale by stating that it remains unchanged. How do you change a competition format that already feels like you are watching the intro to a real Champions League match?

There is so much more to criticise about this review, but I'll stop with one last comment : The passing is great in PES. None of the floaty nonsense that exists in FIFA 14. Yes, if you play with the AI assisting you with it determining who you are passing to based on the angle and power gauge input from you.  Any half decent PES player switches all assist levels to the minimum they need.

There are negatives though and these are mentioned in the review. But a rating of 6 is just childish fanboyism. This is a new engine and a great base to move on with next year. I'd give it an 8.5/10. FIFA is harder to grade. The FIFA gloss is great, but it plays unrealistically which kills it for any serious football fan wanting a proper simulation of the beautiful game. FIFA for kids wanting to play chess with footballer pieces : 9.5/10. FIFA for those wanting accurate football : 7.5/10.

ali_manslayer
ali_manslayer

I want something new this year I definitely will be passing on fifa 14 and try out this new beast

Naletto
Naletto

PES2014 sucks so bad it isn't even fair. I've tried, but I just can't adjust to it. The AI is horrible, sometimes your players acts like pros and sometimes they are like traffic cones. The switching between players is horrible. If you set it at assisted, the game will switch in the worst moments and sometimes to players who are nowhere close to the action. If you use it at semi-assist, it will only change in attacking situations but the problems persists. If you set it to off it will not change at all, if you pass the ball to another player, that player will be controlled by the AI unless you hit LB, but you need to do it as soon as you launch the ball, or the AI controlled player will do something stupid like passing the ball back to you.
Despite all that, the referees are worse than in fifa 13. They're completely biased, anything you do is a foul, but the AI can totally destroy you and nothing is given. Offside is stupid as hell too. I just passe the ball to a player while another player was offside and there you go. Offside, even though that the player who received the ball was onside.
Now sum it up that those scripted momentum goals in Fifa 13 got nothing to the completely tricky goals that the AI can pull on you. Sometimes it's so blatantly cheap that you do the command to your player jump and he will do nothing, just so the AI can put it up on you.
While PES2014 looks great and actually plays kinda good (it's kinda hard getting the feel of it and it's completely impossible to score goals), but there are so much bugs that it just gets you angry instead of giving you a good time... If and when Konami corrects those bugs, I'll give this game another shot.

4milkyx
4milkyx

I've been playing Konami football games since ISS Pro Evolution on PS1. PES was great. The passing was on point, the play was simple and effective and the physics and arcade feel of the game was beautiful. I think around 2009 things started to go horribly wrong. For god sake the commentary has been exactly the same for the last three years. As a loyal PES player I expected great things with this new engine. Now, I feel like Konami have ripped the heart out of what made this game great. Even though 2013 felt like they were getting back on track, 2014 feels like a FIFA knock off. PES has failed to make any significant progress in years and is losing it own identity in the mean time. Save PES Konami. Don't make me go to the dark side.

iskandarzul
iskandarzul

As a seasoned pes player which had been loyal to pes since Pes 6 (that's nearly 8 years ago) and had been playing all the sequences then (pes 2008, pes2009, pes2010, pes 2011, pes2012 and pes 13), I can say that Pes2011 is the best ever amongst the series.


What i like the most about pes 2011 is the accurate manual passing system that is being put as the basis for the game. If you press the short pass button in a calculated force, then the ball will go directly to the direction he'd been passing BY THE EQUAL AMOUNT OF THE FORCE that you'd press the button. Meaning, no automated ball delivery to the 'god knows why' unintended pass recipient just like in PES2012 and a little bit in Pes2013. Most of the times the passes are too automated that it will go haywire to any other players regardless of any amount of force you press. In simpler words, PES2011 is the best ever and PES 2012 and 2013 is just craziness unexplained. 


Now i still haven't tested pes 2014 but from this review i fear that it will disappoint me. How I wish they just revert back to the game system of PES2011 where passing the ball around is so much fun and realistic. That PES2011 really is a game where you can play like Barcelona. How nostalgic.

Horndawgie
Horndawgie

I like the flow of PES more than FIFA this year but I don't think I will buy either one. The AI is complete fail in PES. Goalies with their head up their arse. Yeah, that's real sim. FIFA has a long way to go to mimic the real thing but it's still more solid. Still, I don't like the feel of FIFA this year. 

I have seen a couple of other reviews saying that PES '13 is more fun than this year's. I guess I will pick that up instead of either of this year's offerings.

Will2_0
Will2_0

Oh please!!!!   that is what my 10 year old brother said when he was told that Pes 2014 is better than FIFA 14. It's no contest at all, at any level or platform. These are RAINY days for PES  every one knows that as much as they all hate to admit it, maybe explains why the only weather they put in the game is bright sunny days and no rain/snow. 

They could have done better with the Fox engine. 3/4 of the players look awful except for the stars- shows laziness on my part for a game that does not have  much depth that FIFA has. they have few players hence they should be able to make them as accurate as possible to the real players, FIFA has over 16000 players nd 3/4 of them are pleasing to the eye nd won't scare they hell out of you. 

The game play in FIFA 14 is like the real thing, slow, more technical at times direct like Stoke, or tikka tikka like Barca..it all depends on how you play it..PES, arcade has that cartoonish feel nd look about it. Unintelligent AI, at times embarassing..can go on nd on... 

 It's nt the worst PES ever made but certainly it's no where near FIFA. KONAMI IS STILL TRYING TO FIX WHAT'S BROKEN. (I give them credit for that).  As for FIFA, 'IF it ain't broke, don't fix it.'It's in a league of it's own and the only thing that can take it out of it's throne is FIFA itself.. Don't hate the player, CHANGE the game. Whether a PES or FIFA fan, one thing is certain, We All Love Football! Let the ball roll. Peace.

la-v
la-v

not even one single comment about the awful goalkeepers in the game? that the biggest and the worst problem of the game - the goalkeeprs are so bad part in the game! nobody noticed how late they reacts to the ball ??? the ball is already in the net when they are starting to jump for it - lol !

that - and that alone - ruins the game completly. (and this problems exist in pes series i think since the first version that came out for PS3)

volc-123
volc-123

I played the game for a couple of hours today... Wtf is this review ? I'm really pissed now. FIFA deserves better, but WAT ?! 6.0 is harsh.

korvus
korvus

I hope I can get a few replies to my question without getting burned at the stake, so here it goes. I'm a FIFA player, always have been, never tried PES but this year I'm starting to wonder if I should try it. A lot of my PES-fan friends say "I admit that FIFA is a better game overall but it lacks the soul and the beauty of PES" but when I ask them to elaborate, they never do.

So my question to PES fans is: What exactly is the "soul" of PES? How does that translate into extra enjoyment while playing the game?

DaWarthog
DaWarthog

Gamespot is usually good but they dropped the ball here. Mark Walton, I think you need to play these games for about for 4 weeks with a football expert next to you explaining what's right and wrong before giving a review in this field. 

P.S. Let me know when you guys are ready to hire a gamer that can write instead of a writer that doesn't know games.

AlfaRomeo166
AlfaRomeo166

Ahahahah! I think 6/10 is too much! I have played this game, it's bad! I used to be a PES fan until PES 6, Then the PES series was destroyed! R.I.P.! 

FIFA all the wayyyyy!! :)

Romangelo
Romangelo

LOL This is easily the best football game ever with its innovative gameplay. Everytime the players touch the ball you can feel how realistic it is.

Framerate issue? don't play it on the Xbox FFS.

Gbullet
Gbullet

I am so sorry but ... a 6.0 ?! 

AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

This is a joke, right ?

Right ?

Dunk1970
Dunk1970

@kaizeric Before drawing that conclusion, click on the Metacritic score at the top of the page to see that this is the lowest score PES 2014 has received from *all* the sites they include. The average score being 80%. 

My main point is typified by Digital Spy's 5* rating of FIFA 14, with 4*s to PES 2014. Despite the 100% rating for FIFA 14, Digital Spy still state that PES has the more realistic gameplay. It is plain wrong for a simulator to get top marks when a rival product provides a technically better simulation.

Looking at the "positive", "Negative" and "Mixed" User Reviews on Metacritic, the distributions for the two games are pretty identical.

Either way, 60% is a daft rating for PES 2014.

Dunk1970
Dunk1970

@Horndawgie Is the MLS really so slow paced that PES feels too fast? I play with the pace upped one notch from the default, otherwise it is too slow to represent the Premier League and top teams in European football. Obviously, you can reduce the pace via the options if you want to to mimic the MLS.

What camera angle were you using to get the issues with the goal and keeper not being visible when shots are taken? I've never had that on the default camera. I do want to experiment with the cameras though, as a little bit further out would be my preference.

There is no doubt that the game isn't perfect, but having played both the FIFA and PES demos to death, FIFA lost for me hands down. While it is always the more polished product, it still doesn't feel like you're playing football during gameplay, so what's the point?

Dunk1970
Dunk1970

@Kusann: You use the DPad for quick switching of players. The left stick is for placing players more precisely no the pitch. You can also select re-defined 4-4-2 etc formations. Also, all the terms are explained if you press the [Select] button on your controller. It states this on most of the screens. You are blaming the game because you don't know how to do it. Pretty sad really. 

As for the game play issues you are having, these are all settings. If your players are bunching when you are on the ball, you need to increase the "Support Range" slider. If they are bunching when you are defending then there are several other sliders you can change.If it isn't the settings then I'm afraid you sound like a button masher and FIFA probably is the best place for you. ie You may well be pressing X and [] repeatedly, where the latter is supposed to pull more defenders over each time you press it.

As for the passing, the longer you press X for, the further the pass will go. If you don't like where the Assisted passes send the ball, drop the assist settings down to one of the less assisted settings or even to totally manual.

This game is way more flexible in how you can set out your team to play than FIFA. This is why reviews still often say that PES rules gameplay and that the individual players on the pitch can be better matched up to their real life counterparts. That said, I did have to tweak the stats for several LFC players (some up and some down), but now they play very realistically. eg I improved Suarez's "Dribbling" and "Control" and downgraded his "Finishing". Before the change, he was creating less chances, but scoring nearly every one.

Horndawgie
Horndawgie

@Dunk1970 So an 8.5 for a game that shows poor presentation and modes? Sorry but that has fanboy written all over it. You should know better by now, if you were born in '70. And you claim this reviewer is biased......wow just wow.

mau123450
mau123450

@iskandarzul Man I have bought the PES 14 (PS3) its a great game. If you play soccer/football then you wil know what im talking about. I have won the Europa League (Atletico de Madrid) and playing the Champions with PSG. Its true that the faces, weather,  licensing are not in favor of the game, but there are patches! After playing several games then you will learn what Konami really wanted. I also have Fifa 14 and sincerely FIFA 13 its way better.  I wish the game could have other argentinian commentators; but still when playing Copa Libertadores its like seeing FOX SPORTS LA

Will2_0
Will2_0

@Korvus85 Stick to Fifa, Pes was the it the PS2 ages, not anymore, margins behind.

dlxowhd
dlxowhd

@Korvus85 ever since fifa 10 / pes 10, fifa rapes pes... in early 2000's, pes used to rape fifa

Dunk1970
Dunk1970

@Horndawgie @Dunk1970 : Well seeing as the average review from all sites that contribute to Metacritic is 80%, 85% is hardly a revelation. Especially since some of those sites gave it 95% - LOL. 

Also, there are lots of modes, and certainly all the ones I'm interested in. Just because FIFA has more and seemingly concentrates its effort more on that and licences does not mean that PES is poor. My review lends less weight to these aspects ahead of gameplay ... and always will for obvious reasons. As you point out, I'm a seasoned player and I have come to actually like the knock on effect of limited licences. It means that Konami have made the game far more editable than FIFA, to enable those that create option files. Leaving aside having any kit you like, the editability of in game audio has really been ramped up this year. Playing as LFC, I have YNWA being sung at the start and end of all matches, various team specific chants of my choosing randomly playing throughout or even after specific events (goals for, goals against, when you are playing a specific rival team, etc etc etc - about 30 files per team). There are even specific chants you attach to particular players, so they travel with the player and only play when they are on the pitch. I'm guessing that as a FIFA fan, you've never explored this whole area in PES, so yeah, you won't get why PES is as good as 85% or higher.

The thing I find funny is that FIFA fans go on about the lack of modes in PES, yet they don't have the Champions League. While with option files, PES can have any league or cup competition that exists and by default it comes with both the European cup competitions built in.

So yeah, "Wow" is the word. LOL

iskandarzul
iskandarzul

@mau123450 is the passing system the same as pes11? if not then it will be less fun. 

well, i will buy this pes14. i am a big fan of pes. It's just a matter of time before pes14 (pc version) is available in my country.

korvus
korvus

@dlxowhd So are you saying some people still prefer PES purely out of nostalgia or "loyalty"?

mau123450
mau123450

@iskandarzul @mau123450 Man, its just a different game. At first I was like WTF? but then I started all over the training and with some practice I am now undertanding more the game and becoming quicker in my decisions. Still need to understand fully the combination play.  I used the Pass option as basic but for shooting I used the manual control

korvus
korvus

@dlxowhd I guess it's understandable. I've played my share of games that were not great but kept thinking "maybe on the next one they'll manage to bring back the series to its former glory".

Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 More Info

  • Released
    • 3DS
    • PC
    • + 4 more
    • PlayStation 2
    • PlayStation 3
    • PSP
    • Xbox 360
    Pro Evolution Soccer 2014 is the latest edition to the PES franchise and it centers everything on the ball including how it moves and how players use it.
    5.4
    Average User RatingOut of 294 User Ratings
    Please Sign In to rate Pro Evolution Soccer 2014
    Developed by:
    Konami
    Published by:
    Konami
    Genres:
    Sports, Soccer, Simulation, Team-Based
    Content is generally suitable for all ages. May contain minimal cartoon, fantasy or mild violence and/or infrequent use of mild language.
    Everyone
    All Platforms
    No Descriptors