2.0 Patch Problems

#1 Posted by PsychoDragonJoe (38 posts) -
Like a lot of people, I started playing MGS4 again now that the trophy patch is out. Along the way, there were a couple hiccups where it showed the old disc icon from MGS1 in the corner of the screen. But whatever, it's an old game, maybe it got a scratch or two. Well now I'm at the end of the Act 4 Briefing, right before it plays the MGS1 flashback. It shows the Now Loading screen, which then freezes for just a second, and then returns me to the PS3 desktop! I cleaned off my disk, same thing. I deleted the full install and switched to chapter install, same thing. I switched back to full install, same thing. I got a new copy of the game, same thing. I'm about to try another complete uninstall/reinstall of the game data, but I'm skeptical. Anyone else having problems? Anyone know for sure if this is a patch problem?
#2 Posted by PsychoDragonJoe (38 posts) -
Another thing I wasn't sure was a patch error or a disk error - the background music gets really choppy, especially during action sequences. I have not checked to see if this changes depending on install mode, but it's been true of both disks I've tried.
#3 Posted by PsychoDragonJoe (38 posts) -
Tried again deleting my full installation and switching to the chapter-by-chapter overwriting installation mode, and now Act 4 loaded. Weird. The choppy music and occasionally a delay in dialogue audio during Mission Briefing cinematics persist, but I can live with them. I'm not positive if either of these problems was present before the patch.
#4 Posted by jchc_underoath (158 posts) -

Ya, I'm not sure bud. I recently went through another no kill/alert playthrough and made it safely to the end with no hiccups. Maybe it's your disk or your PS3?

#5 Posted by PsychoDragonJoe (38 posts) -