Really struggling with combat...

#1 Posted by dillingworth86 (6 posts) -

OK, so I'm new to 3rd person shooters and action games generally having mostly played Dragon Age and Final Fantasy of late. I'm really struggling with combat. I tried the mission to find Liara straight after the Citadel and cannot get past the ambush which includes a geth armature! Part of the problem seems to be that my squad won't take cover when I ask them to (down on the d-pad right? I'm playing PS3). 

Any tips on how I should improve would be really appreciated. For now I'm just wandering the galaxy trying to up my XP first... Playing as a soldier by the way.

#2 Posted by Vozlov (1508 posts) -

I wish I could help dude but unfortunately it's just terrible A.I on biowares part.

TBH if it weren't for the A.I this game would be up there with some of my favourites. Not taking cover, shooting into walls, standing still doing nothing while guys beat the crap out of them, it's just terrible game design. To think this got such high marks, crazy.

I'm doing a new run through of the ME games and I'm a mere few missions into the first and I'm already getting bored with it for this reason and this reason alone.

To think they didn't even try and update the A.I with patches is just pathetic. Bioware should stick to KoToR like combat, because real time combat just isn't within their abilities.

#3 Posted by qinshep (1 posts) -