Why the Mass Effect 3 Ending Was Fantastic

#1 Posted by usernameisnot-- (1 posts) -
*---=Why the Mass Effect 3 Ending Was Fantastic=--- * * *(Sorry for the weird asterisks; I couldn't get it format right any other way) Having heard how terrible the ending was before I started playing Mass Effect 3, I had braced myself mentally by the time I finally managed to perfectly headshot those husks and marauder twenty times in a row and drag myself into that big beam of light. (I was also on the verge of punching my laptop.) But then the remarkable happenedthe ending was incredible! And I could not for the life of me understand why there was so much disappointment. So, I went online and starting reading the critiques. Some were childish, some had valid points, but more than anything else, I felt ME3 had been misunderstood. The ME3 ending needed a new kind of heroa paragon of advocacy and elucidationa renegade against the critics who ceaselessly bashed the different colored endings. So inspired by Sheps tireless fight against the destruction of the universe, I decided to take on an even greater challenge: explaining why the Mass Effect 3 ending was actually awesome. --Dispelling the Indoctrination Hypothesis-- First to dispel the Indoctrination Hypothesis. Clever and superb as that ending would have been, it clearly wasnt intended. The proof: the stargazer cut scene after all the endings. If this was actually how the story was intended, not only did it not explain how the Reapers could be destroyed because of a dream sequence, but the stargazer cut scene clearly shows that you saved the day even if you chose the blue or green wrong endings where you gave into the Reapers. Great idea had they actually intended it, but they didnt. Case closed. * * * --The Role of the Reapers and Guardian-- Now one common complaint is that the Reapers and the Guardian dont make sense. Why would you kill all organic life to prevent synthetic life from killing all organic life? Now that isnt actu