JRPG - Which Three to Play First

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by xcryonicx (1294 posts) -

Hi all. I've got down to three RPGs for the 360 to be one of the first I play on the system. Between Blue Dragon, Infinite Undiscovery, an Star Ocean, which would you suggest I play first? I haven't touched a traditional JRPG in quite some time, so which of these has the best balance between story, gameplay, etc. Note: I'm not a newbie to the genre, but I also somewhat dislike grinding for the sake of grinding. Thanks!

#2 Posted by Rabantha (12 posts) -
Well, you have narrowed it down to the same 3 that I did and in the end I bought them all (after finishing one etc). In my opinion, I thought Star Ocean was the best. The story is good, there is humor, the battles are really fun (as always in this series) and it is a very beautiful game visually! Some of the dialog can be a bit heavy, but staying with it definitely offeres the full reward of how in did! Don't know how much you know about the fighting style in it so i wont spoil much, but it was very fun, so personally I would play this second :D ................however, I am still currently playing IU so can not comment on it too much myself, apart from up to now I am really enjoying it. The combat is very fluent and a strong sense of teamwork is definitely present. Now this may overtake the other 2 once I have finished it, but until then I can not judge.......But the other two are safe buys, especially as you can get them really cheap nowdays! Hope this helps you decide, and have fun with whichever one you get! My GT is Rabantha, can always PM on there if you need anything else, I not logged in to this much..... P.S. Another GREAT RPG is Lost Odyssey.......If you like the old FF series, not the new f****d up battles and lame story ones, then this is definitely for you! Probably one of my favourites! Rate it highly above the three named above ;)
#3 Posted by ShadowsDemon (10136 posts) -