Best Sandbox Games?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by EmpireRecords (3 posts) -
I'm pretty new to gaming, and have realized that my favorite types of games are sandbox - I like that you have a nice balance of talking and action, with plenty of freedom to roam around. I haven't actually purchased a 360 yet (saving up!) but should be getting one in a few months, so any recommendations on great sandbox games would be really helpful. To give you more of an idea of what I'm looking for, I just have to say that the new Infamous game (I know it's on PS3) looks AWESOME, but I think I'm still going to get a 360 because the game selection and quality as of now seems to be better. (But my main interest is sandbox, so if you think I'd be better off getting a PS3 please let me know!) I'm also a fan of GTA, but again, Infamous is more along the lines of what I'm looking for. So anything besides GTA, Prototype (which I'll probably rent), or that spiderman game everyone always recommends; because I already know about those, and am looking for some other games. Thanks everyone.
#2 Posted by craigalan23 (15879 posts) -

Saints row 1/2 and Crackdown are both excellent titles. Crackdown is actually my favorite sandbox game.

#3 Posted by Dart_Mcloud (2040 posts) -

ES4: Oblivion

Fallout 3

#4 Posted by Phoenix534 (17774 posts) -

Crackdown is great.

#5 Posted by Amster_G (4289 posts) -

Besides the ones already mentioned above, Assassin's Creed.

#6 Posted by Dave8D2 (247 posts) -

Red Faction: Guerilla and Prototype.

#7 Posted by orb_03_2006 (8494 posts) -
GTA4 & Fallout 3
#8 Posted by magdalene1 (407 posts) -

Besides the ones already mentioned above, Assassin's Creed.

Amster_G