If the GDDR5 set up in the ps4 is so good then why...

• 178 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

greensand24

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 greensand24
Member since 2011 • 457 Posts

...then why hasn't the pc ever had a system set up like the ps4? There must be a reason why system makers avoided such a set up.

I'm no tech wizard but doesnt using GDDR5 cause "handshake"/compatibility problems with the cpu?

I mean I always thought that by going all in with GDDR5 for both the GPU and CPU would cause problems.

This post from the ps4 sub 30fps games thread got me wondering about GDDR5 working with the CPU....

I am a software developer. After reading the PS4 specs, I kind of expected this. Sony screwed up last gen with the cell processor and they screwed up this gen by going with a GDDR5 only system. I knew they would have latency problems with the CPU by using this type of memory.I've been laughing seeing all the GDDR5 hype on here. The XBox One is a more balanced, better designed system that will deliver consistent performance. The supposed PS4 performance advantage is paper only.The PS4 developers are going to have to deal with lots of weird timing issues.Higher bandwidth is great for a GPU, but worthless when the higher latency of the GDDR5 makes the CPU constantly have to wait for the memory to return the data it needs and then taking longer to update that memory. Games are not only graphics. You have to have the CPU running the game code to decide what graphics need to be shown. If the CPU is memory starved because of the higher latency, you will get framerate problems.Esfan13

Avatar image for call_of_duty_10
call_of_duty_10

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 call_of_duty_10
Member since 2009 • 4954 Posts

Because PC isn't a dedicated gaming machine.

It has to do a variety of tasks.

psymon100

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 psymon100
Member since 2012 • 6835 Posts

Interesting OP.