Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 -Artist-
Member since 2015 • 44 Posts

Hi there. :)

I'm a bit of an amateur/novice collector right now but I think I've amassed a decent amount of games and a few collectables that I've kept since childhood. I do have one thing that I have a slight worry about in the back of my mind. Wondering if any collectors here could give some advice.

I would be kinda heartbroken if something happened to my collection and I also know that right now I can't afford to buy it all back.

So, is there any precautions you can take to keep your collection somewhat safe in the event of a fire, tornado, flooding, etc.?

jdc6305

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 8

#2 jdc6305
Member since 2005 • 5058 Posts

I worry about fire and thieves. My house is old and I worry about the wiring causing a fire. I also live 2 blocks north of Detroit. I have several drug addicts in my family that like to burglarize homes. My cousin broke into my grandmothers house and ripped her off. 2 of my neighbors homes have been broken into. My uncle had his home broken into also. I can't afford a alarm system. I fortified my house the best I could. I prop a 2x8 against the back door when I'm not some so no one can kick it in. I also have my windows sealed up pretty well. It's not going to stop anyone if they want in bad enough but its better then nothing. If I got robbed it would be devastating. I have $8000 in video games $15000 in fishing equipment and guns and another $10000 in misc stuff.

The best thing you can do is get home owners or rental insurance. Then document everything you have in pictures and put them online.

suicidesn0wman

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

#3 suicidesn0wman
Member since 2006 • 7490 Posts