Does The Ps3 Have A powerful "Cell"?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

milan22

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 milan22
Member since 2007 • 840 Posts
Well, in the beginning. Note: i'm not comparing formats.. just wanna peace of info. Does the "Cell Processor" hv more power these PCs 8800 or 7900 or whatever (i'm not good at that)? cuz i was impressed in those new gaming PCs that contain the best graphic cards, etc. so now, can Sony's Cell Proccesor deliver us more power than these cards?? some people say *if the Ps3 had Crysis, it wouldn't even be able to run it!* and i'm shocked:(. is that true.. info plz THANKS
cedmonds

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 cedmonds
Member since 2005 • 56 Posts

Right, first point the cell is the ps3s cpu, not gpu, so comparing the two is like comparing a fridge and a lorry. the GPU or rsx (reality synthiser)(spelt wrong) is different to the normal pc graphics cards, the ps3s rsx has a clock rate of 550mhz, same as a 7900, but the rsx memory is at 3.2mhz, a bit higher than the 7900s 1400mhz.

i play on the ps3 alot more than my pc, so i will say the ps3 is better!!

4200x2, 3gb ddr2 400, 7600gs 256mb and some other elves inside my computer

CosmoKing7717

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

#4 CosmoKing7717
Member since 2004 • 4602 Posts

Right, first point the cell is the ps3s cpu, not gpu, so comparing the two is like comparing a fridge and a lorry. the GPU or rsx (reality synthiser)(spelt wrong) is different to the normal pc graphics cards, the ps3s rsx has a clock rate of 550mhz, same as a 7900, but the rsx memory is at 3.2mhz, a bit higher than the 7900s 1400mhz.

cedmonds
shows how much u do not know young one. (just felt like saying that) The cell isnt like a normal cpu. unlike other's it's designed to be able to do the tasks of a gpu also, not just the cpu's tasks. So in other words...there is no way to tell how powerful the ps3 is xD
milan22

Forum Posts