Demon's Souls Newbie Questions

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by Ovirew (7486 posts) -

So the other day I started playing Demon's Souls, having heard good things about it over the years.  I know that the game is known for its frustrating level of difficulty, but I'm sure I'll find out more about that in due time.

It takes me a really long time to 'create a character' in games like this, so I spent a good hour or so making my magician before things kicked off the other day.  Then I worked on the tutorial.  I got, I think to the end of the tutorial, and as soon as I walked through the door the large monster there killed me.

So, the game put me in that 'Nexus' place.  I guess I'm a spirit now?  Still not too clear on that point.

The only other place I can go to besides the Nexus right now is this one castle area, which I assume is level 1?  I'm okay with that for now, since I would like to take things one stage at a time, but I still want to know how I get back to the tutorial and get my body back.  Or maybe I don't?  Maybe that's just supposed to happen when you start the game?

Since the tutorial, I died a time or two in the castle dungeon.  I recovered my 'body' one of those times, leading to even more confusion.  If I'm a spirit, and I can die as a spirit, then does this mean I am losing 'layers' of my spirit?  Lol.

I guess what I'd really like to know is if my 'physical' body is gone for good, and if there's any way to go back to the tutorial to get it back...  Because right now there doesn't appear to be.  I'm confused because I can't even tell if I am a spirit or what right now, and I'd like to see what benefits being alive will bring me.  It seems like I will get full access to my health bar when I am alive, which would be nice.