Which WWII series delivers the purest and best WWII experience?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

ASK_Story

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 ASK_Story
Member since 2006 • 11455 Posts

I'm getting into WWII games lately after being an addict to Company of Heroes (one of the best RTS's ever by the way), so I want to discuss some good WWII first person shooter discussions. Also, I want to learn from these discussions on which series is best and worth reliving (or purchasing)all over again.

Here's what I know so far, but since I'm a noob with WWII games, any more info and thoughts from veteran gamers in this forum would help a lot:

• Medal of Honor: Allied Assault - Maybe the first WWII game that popularized this genre and started it all. I think the D-Day scene captured in this game is still unmatched.
  • Battlefield 1942 - Arcade-style meets WWII, and equals pure fun. Also, is it the first one that successfully blended online multiplayer?
  • Call of Duty - Considered by many as the best one. Which ones best in the series? Is the first and original still the best?
  • Brothers in Arms - Probably the most realistic one in terms of gameplay because of its focus on tactical warfare rather than running and gunning. Also, I personally have a lot of interest in this series the most because it also has a good story. The other WWII games virtually have no story but it's all mission-based separated into different campaigns. Brothers in Arms looks like Band of Brothers the video game, so this is a plus to me.

Anyway, I already mentioned Company of Heroes, but I wanted to discuss shooters. Which of these series (and post if I'm missing any noteworthy ones...Hour of Vic "turd" ry doesn't count ), delivers the most purest, unadulterated, genuine WWII experience? Also, which one of these series equally delivers the most fun, run and gun, pure-bred, crazy over-the-top action ever?