So I just started playing Sid Meier's Pirates!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

3riForce

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 3riForce
Member since 2004 • 2293 Posts

And it feels like information overload. I'm thrown into the game with a bunch of objectives, a bunch of options for buying and selling, and I'm just confused. So far I've just been attacking random ships at sea and trying to learn it as I go. I noticed there's an enciclopedia in the main menu. Was this game overwhelming for anyone else?

Baranga

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#2 Baranga
Member since 2005 • 14217 Posts

Read the manual?

Pirates! is a collection of minigames, none too difficult. Go to some ports and activate quests if the sandbox overwhelms you. IIRC as long as you don't engage in the combat minigame, the ships firing at you on the main map won't sink your flagship so feel free to explore.

3riForce

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 3riForce
Im actually getting the hang of it now and its pretty fun. I upped the difficulty level so I did lose my flagship, which sucks, but I'm definitely getting the hang of it now
geitenvla

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 16

#4 geitenvla
Member since 2006 • 960 Posts

Pirates! is fun. I've played the original and I was very pleased with this remake. It's not too difficult, basically you can do whatever you want. Here is a nice Strategy Guide. Have fun with this great game. And don't forget to take a look here for some excellent mods.

I think I'm gonna install the game now :D

[EDIT]