RPG noob here. Recommend me one!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Engrish_Major

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Engrish_Major
Member since 2007 • 17373 Posts

I seem to be leaning away from my long-held FPS roots, and am looking for a good RPG to play. It started with Fable (flame shield), and I rather enjoyed Risen. I've never played Mass Effect, Witcher, etc that I've heard so much about. Do you have to play the first one of those to enjoy the second? Or other recommendations? I don't care what the setting is, though I do enjoy the exploring aspects of games (and do admit to being a graphics whore).

dakan45

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 13

#2 dakan45
Member since 2009 • 18819 Posts
Fable and risen are sooo diffirent. One is pretty easy and hardly much of rpg, the other is designed with no step back, its clear it wanted to appeal to a hardcore fanbase. Mass effect is mostly a game that you make dialogue choices, good or evil and your choices changed some things in the story. Me2 is the same, but there are no skills involved on weapons and you dont really get better weapons or armors (hell it doesnt even have an inventory) Its a bit of shooter, but the choices are strong. Both games dont have much of exploration. For that you should go to fallout 3 or new vegas. Witcher is not bad either, its a more linear kind of rpg that you dont make your character but you used the default one and you play his story, choices are kept to minimum and the combat is based around clicking at the right time. The levels are decent sized for exploration but the game has alot of fetching.
deathshand707

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 deathshand707
Member since 2007 • 955 Posts