GTA_MGS_1

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By GTA_MGS_1
Member since 2008 • 524 Posts

Hey peeps can anyone help me out, getting a new case soon.. Rosewill Thor V2.. i'm a noob when it comes too cooling.. its going to be air cooled, can anyone help out? im thinking of having the intake set to full speed and 2 exhausts at the top and side at normal speed, is this a good combo for a high spec rig? thankss :)

Also i think this case comes with a big fan on the side case, is this better turned on or will it affect the cooling? any help appreciated!!

FatalScorpion

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

User Lists: 5

#2 FatalScorpion
Member since 2014 • 710 Posts

@GTA_MGS_1:

Well I actually have that exact case. It comes with 3 230mm, one for a front intake, one for a side intake and one for a top exhaust, and a 140mm rear exhaust fan (which spins much faster than the others). This case is really cool (literally and figuratively). I'd say yes to having the side fan on as the intake fans are fairly slow moving. The exhaust fans are the one's you're really going to want to crank, via the fan controllers, for the heavy gaming sessions or whatever. The rear exhaust fan is noticeably louder when cranked. So don't be alarmed if it sounds like the fan controllers aren't working. I have my intake fans set to A and the exhaust fans set to B. I don't think it really matters all that much though. I guess if you wanted a mid level setting you could hook up the side intake and top exhuast on the same controller and just crank that up so you get a boost but don't have to hear the rear exhaust.

my rig:

ThorV2

ASRock Z68 Extreme4 Gen3

I7 2700K unlocked

Zalman CNPS12X (ubercool cpu cooler if you want to overclock) idles between 28-30 celcius and 34-38 while gaming its f**king huge though and might block ram space. I just installed the ram first though.

Patriot Viper 3 16GB 2133MHZ

EVGA GTX750ti 2GB

Samsung EVO 120GB