Overclocking an AMD Phenom II 955

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Physorac

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Physorac
Member since 2011 • 373 Posts

So basically I'm new to overclocking, & I don't know the first thing about AMD Overdrive. I know that when I adjust the speed of the processor, I have to change voltages or something? I never really understood voltages. Help would be appreciated, thank you in advance :)

RayvinAzn

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 RayvinAzn
Member since 2004 • 12552 Posts
If you're new to overclocking, don't touch any voltages. A bad overclock you can revert to stock settings from. Too much voltage is the only thing these days that can actually destroy your hardware. Overclocking these days is simple as hell. Most of it is easily accomplished just by raising the processor multiplier to get to the level you want to be at. No messing around with RAM ratios locking PCI-e clocks, or any of that stuff. It's all straightforward and rather easy. I'd do an 8-hour minimum burn-in on your overclock using a utility like Prime95 to ensure stability. A target speed of around 3.6GHz (x18 multi) should be doable on stock volts just to give you something of a goal.
Avatar image for hartsickdiscipl
hartsickdiscipl

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 10

#3 hartsickdiscipl
Member since 2003 • 14787 Posts

Do you have an aftermarket cooler on your 955? If not, you're going to want one to be overclocking it. The best way to OC an AMD black edition CPU is to go into your BIOS when you turn on your PC, and increase the CPU multiplier. Most CPUs sold don't have an unlocked multiplier, so overclocking is much harder. The BE chips do. You will probably have to increase your voltage (don't go over 1.5 volts with a Phenom II, even with a good cooler) to get a good overclock, but an increase of a couple hundred MHz should be possible without increasing it.

Iantheone

Forum Posts

Wiki Points