Network Adapter For Gaming

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by MylesB93 (132 posts) -

I need to buy a network adapter for my gaming PC but I have no idea where to start. What kind of specs do I need to consider? How do I know what is compatible with my chosen motherboard? Also, as I will be using my PC mostly for gaming, I'd imagine that'd I need something thats quite fast?

#2 Edited by FelipeInside (26580 posts) -

@MylesB93 said:

I need to buy a network adapter for my gaming PC but I have no idea where to start. What kind of specs do I need to consider? How do I know what is compatible with my chosen motherboard? Also, as I will be using my PC mostly for gaming, I'd imagine that'd I need something thats quite fast?

Just the onboard will do fine.

#3 Posted by MylesB93 (132 posts) -

@FelipeInside said:

@MylesB93 said:

This may sound really dumb (bear with me, this is my first build lol) but I wasn't aware that motherboards had network adapters onboard?

#4 Edited by FelipeInside (26580 posts) -

@MylesB93 said:

@FelipeInside said:

@MylesB93 said:

This may sound really dumb (bear with me, this is my first build lol) but I wasn't aware that motherboards had network adapters onboard?

Yeah they do now, it's been like that for a while.

Some even have 2 adapters, and some even come with a wireless adapter.

#5 Posted by kraken2109 (13255 posts) -

To clarify, are you talking about wireless or wired?

#6 Posted by insane_metalist (7014 posts) -

Wireless one? Here you go.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833314061

#7 Posted by MylesB93 (132 posts) -

@kraken2109 said:

Wireless.

@insane_metalist said:

Will this definitely be quick enough for gaming?

#8 Edited by FelipeInside (26580 posts) -

@MylesB93 said:

@kraken2109 said:

Wireless.

@insane_metalist said:

Will this definitely be quick enough for gaming?

Sorry, I thought you meant the normal wired adapter.