Help with serious FPS issues despite good PC.

This topic is locked from further discussion.

jeffray2323

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 jeffray2323
Member since 2015 • 25 Posts

Hey guys, I'm an amateur when it comes to PC hardware and specifications, so I was hoping some more knowledgable folks on here could help me out. I have spoken with several different people who have tried to figure it out but it's proven to be futile so far. The only two games I play for PC are Diablo 3 and Oblivion (With a few texture mods and all settings turned max and on 1920x1080) but I am pretty sure there is something wrong with either my processor or my GPU. Or something is bogging one of them down. I have a GTX 670, 16 gb RAM, AMD FX 6100 ( Yeah I know it's a shit processor but it still should be able to run Diablo 3 and Oblivion no problem, even maxed out) Diablo 3 used to run perfectly, then after a couple months I started noticing major FPS drops when there was a massive battle on the screen, and it had never happened before. Then I just kind of stopped PC gaming for a while and now I've recently started back up with Oblivion. I maxed all settings out and like I said threw some texture mods on there and it has no problem in non fps intensive areas. I'll get 100+ FPS in those areas. Then the second I swing my camera towards some really fps intensive areas, I'll go from like 120 fps down to 25. It's ridiculous. I have been monitoring usage on GPU and CPU cores with MSI afterburner and no one core goes above 85%, and if it does, it shares part of its load with another cpu and then goes back down and the other cpu that took part of its load then goes up in percentage. My GPU % usage during all of this is: 90-100% when looking at non fps intensive areas at 120 fps, then drops down to 25-40% when I swing around and look at fps intensive areas of 25-35 fps. All the while, like I said, no core is getting to 100 or even 90 % so that's what makes me th