Desktop PC for gaming

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Arwiz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 Arwiz
Member since 2011 • 25 Posts

Due to many problems with gaming laptops in the past I decided not to buy new one and instead for just little bit extra cash build desktop for gaming. Specially when I saw prices of new i7's. I have to note that this is my first build as I have never done anything similar in the past however I'm confident I can put it together my self using few youtube guides. It's not rocket science after all.

Case: NZXT Phantom http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=605770
MB: Asus P8P67 http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=617978
CPU: i5-2500k 3.3Ghz http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=619274
RAM Corsair Dominator 2x2GB: http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=590451
GPU: MSI Radeon HD 6850 Crossfire http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=619301
SSD: Corsair F60 SSD http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=601323
PSU: Corsair AX 850W http://www.komplett.dk/k/ki.aspx?sku=600426

This list has been updated. I drooped the idea of i7.

Here is where I can't decide. There are so many of them and reviews between ATI and Nvida for gaming are so mixed that I'm not sure which I should take. My bugdet for this part is ~300 EU so advice would be very welcomed. Atm looking between: Nvidia: http://www.pixmania.com/dk/dk/8299921/art/msi/geforce-gtx-570-1280-mb-g.html ATI: http://www.pixmania.com/dk/dk/8374154/art/msi/radeon-hd-6950-2-gb-gddr5.html As you can see ATI has more memory but some players say Nvidia drivers are way better for gaming so I'm really not sure which way I should go. Also comments on overall build would be welcomed too since as I said it's my first.

Arwiz

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 Arwiz

Really nice system you have picked out, a few things though: