This topic is locked from further discussion.

GhostHawk196

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

User Lists: 0

#1 GhostHawk196
Member since 2012 • 1337 Posts

I have a pc with the following specs - i7-4790K and 2x GTX780Ti SLI

I've noticed in the SLI configuration under PhysX settings > Processor you can set card 1 or 2 and Dedicate to PhysX. This gives varied performance depending on the game. I have to play around with this by way of trial and error to get smooth 60FPS VSYNC. I don't understand why some games run better with Card 1 and some with card 2 and what does dedicating a card to PhysX do? Sorry for the noob questions, I am new to the "PC Master race".

ShadowDeathX

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#2 ShadowDeathX
Member since 2006 • 11698 Posts

Ignore those options and leave it as automatic or GPU 2 if need be.

GPU accelerated PhysX is a physics API that is rarely used.

• When you are given the option to select a card to do PhysX processing, you are just telling the driver which one is going to do the PhysX processing while SLI remains in tact. (in a game that uses GPU accelerated PhysX).
  • When you are dedicating a card to PhysX, you are disabling SLI in that config and telling the driver to ONLY use that card for PhysX processing. This is best used when you have a weaker Nvidia card or a spare card and just want it do to PhysX.

Just don't choose "Dedicate to PhysX".

k...

GhostHawk196

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 GhostHawk196
Member since 2012 • 1337 Posts

Hey thanks a lot, this clears up a lot. Is this why some people use 3 way SLI? 2 cards for SLI and the third dedicated to PhysX? I don't mind spending a lot of money to get the optimal performance but it seems a bit excessive to get another 780Ti just to dedicate to PhysX when it is rarely used.

GeryGo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#4 GeryGo  Moderator
Member since 2006 • 12803 Posts

@ShadowDeathX said: