PC gaming question, I don't know anything about PC Gaming.

This topic is locked from further discussion.

RJLateralus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By RJLateralus
Member since 2007 • 969 Posts

I have a question, I am a photographer and have an average laptop and average Macbook pro to edit photos in Lightroom.

However, after working with image software for a while, it starts to slow and sometimes crash (with both lap tops).

Now, I have always been a console gamer, and never explored the PC gaming territory, but I have been tempted to start PC gaming.

My question is, if I get a high end PC rigged for gaming, would the experience in other software like Lightroom also improve?

Sorry if dumb question, but I want to know if I would kill to birds with one stone if I get a PC for gaming.

General_X

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#2 General_X
Member since 2003 • 9137 Posts

The short answer is yes.

The long answer is:

Gaming PC's are such because they have the horsepower to run demanding games for extended periods of time, and the cooling systems to ensure that they are adequately ventilated to prevent thermal throtteling (which is what I assume is one of the problems with your laptops).

For productivity tasks like Photo-manipulation you will want a bit more RAM and CPU power than what your typical gaming PC needs, I would say at least 16GB of RAM, an SSD, and an Octocore AMD processor or an i5-7 Intel Processor.

This sort of set-up would be ideal for productivity, especially if you don't need the mobility of laptops daily. Powerful desktops offer the best performance per dollar.

jcknapier711

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

#3  Edited By jcknapier711
Member since 2012 • 470 Posts