Optical Mouse and FPS games!

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by war3 (103 posts) -

I play mainly fps games such as Counterstrike and Call of Duty Multiplayer where mouse responsiveness is pretty important.  I need to upgrade my mouse badly and i and wondering what you guys think is the best gaming mouse to get (as far as optical, not traditional ball mouse).  Also, I am seriously considering getting a wireless mouse but have heard that perhaps the response time might not be as good especially during online play???  Do you guys use wireless opitical mice for FPS games and do you think that is the way to go?  Thanks alot guys!

#2 Posted by Deinonych (142 posts) -
I've been using a Logitech MX518 for the past two years. It is a fantastic mouse.  It has very smooth response, with adjustable DPI settings.    Logitech also makes the G5 mouse, which has adjustable weights for a more custom feel.  Both mice are corded.  In my experience, corded provides better responsiveness for FPS games.  The wireless mice I have tried seem to have a bit of lag to me.
#3 Posted by ufopuller (6045 posts) -
Looking to go with optical/recharagable too.  Could not handle a lag in FPS
#4 Posted by PC-Gamer (463 posts) -

The G7 is probably the most reponsive wireless mouse out there. It's a bit expensive but I got it for 70 bucks. I also hear great things about the G5.

#5 Posted by doubutsuteki (2905 posts) -

I play mainly fps games such as Counterstrike and Call of Duty Multiplayer where mouse responsiveness is pretty important. I need to upgrade my mouse badly and i and wondering what you guys think is the best gaming mouse to get (as far as optical, not traditional ball mouse). Also, I am seriously considering getting a wireless mouse but have heard that perhaps the response time might not be as good especially during online play??? Do you guys use wireless opitical mice for FPS games and do you think that is the way to go? Thanks alot guys!

war3