Noob question about GPU

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Edited by webedoomed (10 posts) -

I'm complete noob to gaming.

My question is if it's really worth it to purchase such expensive video cards when most of the tech is updating every 6-18 months depending on the components. Couldn't I spend $199 on a r 270x and play 99% of titles that has ever existed in 1080 at high to ultra settings? Isn't it just a dozen or less titles that couldn't run well with that card?

From what I'm gathering, there's practical gaming with a focus on actual gameplay, and then there's uber gamers who value the eye candy. Is there that much of a difference in the feel of a game going from medium to high or high to ultra settings and textures?

Figure I can put a decent rig together for $700 that will play nearly anything on high/ultra, else splurge an extra $400 and play the rest maxed out. I'm not sure this is worth it. The newest games seem to rarely have large discounts, where as older games are highly discounted. Doesn't it make more sense to stay a gen behind and play all you like, with high settings on the cheap?

Serious question. I know it sounds rather noobish, well I'm tech savvy, but been out of gaming for about 15 years now.

#2 Posted by 04dcarraher (19589 posts) -

Getting better gpu's allows you run games at higher resolutions and settings but more importantly being able to use all that extra candy eye at good framerates. You have to look at your target at what you what to run and what settings. If you are looking at the r270x you should look at the GTX 760 much better bang for your buck, while only being another $50. That card is able to match those $330+ cards easily with some overclocking.

#3 Posted by Cobra_nVidia (1555 posts) -

If you're a complete noob, I wouldn't recommend bothering with a high-end GPU.