Motion sickness from Half Life 2?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

chaos_13037

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 chaos_13037
Member since 2007 • 25 Posts

I just started playing Half Life 2 after so many years because I finally have a decent computer to run it on.

Anyway I started playing shortly after dinner and after about an hour of playing it I noticed an increasing sense of motion sickness. I felt dizzy and just a little nauseous. At first I wasn't sure if it was the game so I exited it and did some other stuff.

I tried playing again later on in the evening and I got the same feelings. Now I've played a bunch of FPS's (BF2, FEAR, BF 2142 etc.) and I've never had this happen before.

So I was wondering if anyone else had this happen to them? And better yet what they did about it? (other than not playing than it, cuz I'm totally finishing this game even if I puke up a lung)

Jagg3d

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#2 Jagg3d
Member since 2007 • 773 Posts

well, if it really bothers you before you feel sick take some meclyzine (sp? ) pills because they really help with motion sickness. Otherwise, try turning on some more lights in the room because maybe the light flashes from the game are screwing with your head.

IF that's the case you might also want to think about a new monitor maybe yours is going or the refresh rate is too low/

The_PC_Gamer

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3 The_PC_Gamer
Member since 2003 • 2910 Posts

hmm i duno, it might JUST be that your new rig provides a much smoother and sharper looking game, which accounts for the fact that you have motion sickness now.

Personally, I used to get motion sickness from any modern FPS when I played it on anything bigger than a 19'' monitor. But thats just me.

Diernes

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 13

#4 Diernes
Member since 2005 • 378 Posts