Microsoft Office vs Use the free versions?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

hydralisk86

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By hydralisk86
Member since 2006 • 8844 Posts

I'm a student right now, so i can buy Microsoft Office for a discounted price, $40, for the most updated version. Is it worth it to buy Microsoft Office, or should i just save money and use the free legal word processors out there? There is another thing to consider, that there are computers at my school that have Word, so it might be a waste of money since i could use Word there. But school closes early on friday and is closed saturday and sunday, and also closed on certain holidays. What do you people think? What should i do?

BassMan

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 225

#2  Edited By BassMan
Member since 2002 • 17803 Posts

@hydralisk86: I have been using OpenOffice for years and never had any issues. You can also use the MS document formats as well.

xantufrog

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 5

#3  Edited By xantufrog  Moderator
Member since 2013 • 17875 Posts

Libre/Open Office works great. My only gripe is Microsoft-centeric: it's still an MS-Office world and *sometimes* formatting from Libre doesn't carry over perfectly when someone with true MS Office opens something. Spreadsheet stuff (graphs, etc) seem more finicky than Word. So - it's somewhat tricky in the professional world where, for example, grants have VERY (RIDICULOUSLY) strict formatting and font guidelines and the open-source Offices just don't cut it. Also, if you use citation-management software - like Mendeley - my experience is that it works just as well in Libre/Open, but can't be used in MS Office. That is, god forbid you want to continue your research paper on a different machine with MS Office. You're stuck because really weird stuff can happen with the in-text citations than can set you back bigtime.