Improving your typing speed?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

xXCombatWombat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 2

User Lists: 0

#1 xXCombatWombat
Member since 2009 • 1529 Posts

I have a slight dilemma Gamespotters and I think its something you guys could help me with. I'm trying to increase my typing speed and use better techniques when typing. I know that there is a proper way to do it without having my hands move all over the keyboard and instead have my wrists be stationary.

Are there any good YouTube channels/tutorials you guys recommend to get better at this vital skill?

GeryGo

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#2 GeryGo  Moderator
Member since 2006 • 12803 Posts

Yes, start writing alot on this forum :D I'm an expert already with the amount of posts I did.

Aside that there's a game called The Typing of the Dead you need to write the words fast - each letter is a bullet

if you don't want to spend any money on it and want something cool as a game, there's a flash browser based clone for you to play for free: Typocalypse

Bikouchu35

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#3 Bikouchu35
Member since 2009 • 8344 Posts

http://play.typeracer.com/

This is good too.

Chat with your friends through typing. Don't try to type so fast that you start making lots of mistakes, backspacing a lot can wastes seconds.

JigglyWiggly_

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#4 JigglyWiggly_
Member since 2009 • 24625 Posts

You don't have to use any type of typing method. I type around 130-140wpm and I only use my index finger for my right hand and pinky for enter.

There's 10fastfingers if you want to sperg on that, but I think just everyday typing will help build your speed.

Avatar image for deactivated-579f651eab962
deactivated-579f651eab962

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#5  Edited By deactivated-579f651eab962
Member since 2003 • 5404 Posts

Get a mechanical keyboard, it will help.

SaintSatan