help me with my ram question

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by danielsmith2020 (2244 posts) -
I'm fairly new to this upgrading computers, currently I have 1 stick of 512 DDR PC3200 ram and I want to upgrade to some better ram and I'm not entirely sure if I should just buy another stick like my current ram or go for something like DDR2.

I'm not sure at all about what ram I can plug into my motherboard can someone help me on this?
#2 Posted by BLKR4330 (1698 posts) -
ddr2 ram won't fit it needs a different slot. Any stick of pc3200 ram will be fine, only if you have dual channel support you'd do best to look for a same stick as what you have now. Download and install cpu-z to get more info about your current ram and available slots or check your motherboard manual.
#3 Posted by danielsmith2020 (2244 posts) -
Thanks for that
#4 Posted by danielsmith2020 (2244 posts) -
The thing is though that my motherboard has 4 slots 2 that are black and 2 that are blue and I don't know about the blue slots.
#5 Posted by BLKR4330 (1698 posts) -
The thing is though that my motherboard has 4 slots 2 that are black and 2 that are blue and I don't know about the blue slots.danielsmith2020

That would mean it supports dual channel. Insert matched pairs per color to benefit from this. (it basically means the cpu can read and write from those slots at the same time, thus giving a small performance boost)
#6 Posted by danielsmith2020 (2244 posts) -
[QUOTE="danielsmith2020"]The thing is though that my motherboard has 4 slots 2 that are black and 2 that are blue and I don't know about the blue slots.BLKR4330

That would mean it supports dual channel. Insert matched pairs per color to benefit from this. (it basically means the cpu can read and write from those slots at the same time, thus giving a small performance boost)

Do the blue slots mean they support a different type of ram or the same type of ram?
#7 Posted by BLKR4330 (1698 posts) -