Another dark souls 1 vs 2 debate

This topic is locked from further discussion.

RandoJarfat

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 5

#1 RandoJarfat
Member since 2014 • 63 Posts

Yes i did install dsfix now but even before they looked better, but with dsfix they looked even better again! In fact i think its the best looking game ive played in living memory. blows skyrim away out the water (i know thats also dated but i played that not too long ago). something about the style of it, it seems to have a very unique art style where polygons dont look like polygons, everyhting has a sort of sheen about it like an 80s movie, i just love that! alot is to do with the film grain i guess like in masss effect 2.

I just started playing ds1 after everyone was saying its the best and after only a few minutes I really got what they were on about. that badboy is thick with atmosphere. I imagine that ds2 will have some of it but it hadnt so far in the couple hours i palyed. Mejula does have that meloncholic feel that the ds1 start area has tho so im hopeful that it will still give me some whistful memories in its own right once i get into it.

The main thing I notice is the graphics actually look considerably WORSE on ds2 than 1...how is this possible?

The ds1 graphics looks awesome somehow but i dont know quite what it is. Its something about the good use of that grainy effect for distant objects but also even clsoe object all look amazing no blockiness at all.

On the otehr hand when i was in the giant forest or whatever its called at the start of the game the rockfaces and plain flat grass in ds2 just look terribly blocky and bland. You dont see anythting like that in ds1 everything has a beautiful kind of art style. Anyone know what it is, how could they have gone backwards??