What programming languages?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

ProjectAeos

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1 ProjectAeos
Member since 2015 • 25 Posts

I'm an aspiring game designer and I would like to know what languages are most important during game development. I want to start from complete scratch. Like potentially creating a game engine for a specific game genre. What are the game developers using now? And what languages will be used for the future of game design?

Thank you.

Avatar image for Jolt_counter119
Jolt_counter119

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 1

#2 Jolt_counter119
Member since 2010 • 4226 Posts

c++, and good luck. Game programming isn't that easy that you're going to be able to just start with making your own engine.

Shottayouth13-

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#3  Edited By Shottayouth13-
Member since 2009 • 7018 Posts

Java, C++.

N30F3N1X

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4 N30F3N1X
Member since 2009 • 8923 Posts

Start with classless C++ or regular C to get a feeling of what programming is like. Then switch over to C# to do actual programming. I wouldn't suggest anything else before you have enough experience to understand how computer logic ticks.

Mozuckint

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 5

#6  Edited By Mozuckint
Member since 2012 • 831 Posts

C++, Java, C# would be your general go to languages for games.

In the future? Hopefully D or Rust will replace C++, but for now, C++ is the biggie here.

Avatar image for deactivated-5ebea105efb64
deactivated-5ebea105efb64

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#7 deactivated-5ebea105efb64
Member since 2013 • 7262 Posts

C++. Oh and good luck. ;)

XaosII

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#8 XaosII
Member since 2003 • 16705 Posts