• 64 results
#1 Posted by Korvus (3528 posts) -

I've noticed that a lot of people here (me included) aren't native English speakers and I was wondering what languages do you guys speak/ understand/ dabble in?

So I'll go ahead and start it.

Languages I speak at native level:

Portuguese (always good to speak one's native language at native level)

English (I make grammatical mistakes here and there, but so do a lot of the native speakers I talk to =P) - My sister taught me how to read, write and do math at the age of 3, so when I started school (not pre-school) at the age of 4 I was bored out of my mind and decided to learn English. At about 6 I was watching movies without subtitles and was always really good In English at school. The actually speaking part of the language though, I only started practicing when I started working with a US team...it caught me by surprise how long it actually took me to say anything in the beginning...I could understand anything without a problem but it took forever to formulate a reply in my head...decided I would go for a more well-rounded learning on my next language.

Languages I'm fluent enough in:

Spanish (I'm fine with reading/writing and can make do with speaking and writing, although sometimes it's hard to not let a little Portuguese slip in there) - Think I started learning when I was about 12, watching Spanish channels (with Portuguese subtitles). I mostly watched cartoons since they were mostly accent neutral and I found it easier to learn from. Haven't had the need to use Spanish often, so not much in the way of speech practice.