This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by trippypees (69 posts) -

Soul, Jazz, Blues, Psychedelic Rock, old Punk Rock or any other genre that falls under one of these and is worth listening to.

I've been playing for about 7 years now on multiple instruments and almost every genre out there, but the aforementioned genres are what inspire me the most and are the ones I'm playing/listening to the past couple of years, any band suggestions ?

P.S. My fav artist/composer for months now is Hiromi Uehara. Chick Corea was my #1 for as long as I can remember but she just blew me away, and btw the reason I can't go on without music is really video games, as a kid I always appreciated the time and effort given to make those timeless retro video game soundtracks, so I always wanted to learn how to play my favorite soundtracks.......then one thing led to another and here I am :)

#2 Posted by LostProphetFLCL (16962 posts) -
#3 Posted by Shmiity (4964 posts) -

Try some fun modern rock bands... The Killers, The Strokes, Bloc Party, Franz Ferdinand, Arctic Monkeys, Two Door Cinema Club...

Yes, I am a new-wave princess.

#4 Edited by the_bi99man (11024 posts) -

If you're into instrumental acoustic music, go youtube Tommy Emmanuel, Andy Mckee, Antoine Dufour, and just about any video that shows up in the "related" list to any of them. Prepare to spend all night having your blown and re-blown.

#5 Posted by LostProphetFLCL (16962 posts) -

For a different style suggestion, I recommend checking out the band Graveyard. Got turned onto them recently by a member of a local band on facebook. Can't believe I hadn't heard of them until now.

#6 Posted by trippypees (69 posts) -

For a different style suggestion, I recommend checking out the band Graveyard. Got turned onto them recently by a member of a local band on facebook. Can't believe I hadn't heard of them until now.

nice nice, kinda hardrockish....not bad

#7 Posted by trippypees (69 posts) -