Metal Songs with Catchy/Melodic Choruses?

#1 Edited by geniobastardo (1294 posts) -

I'm new to this genre and I'm loving it. I'm not really used to the shrieking and growling stuff (well I do love growling) so I'm looking for something more according to my liking.An example for my 'liking' would be Threat Signal.
I don't really want any metal nerd to start a brawl here like "Shrieking and growling is REAL Metal". Any one who knows songs/albums of this sort is welcomed.

Help will be appreciated.

#2 Posted by KHAndAnime (13448 posts) -

Metal music isn't really about catchy choruses as much these days, though there are metal bands that have them. That's more up rock music's alley (or even punk). Metal music is more about guitar playing and drumming. The band you listed is mostly metalcore, but that hardly is even considered metal. Iron Maiden has tons of catchy choruses, but where they shine is in their instrumentation.

Example of Iron Maiden with catchy choruses

The Trooper

Run to the Hills

Example of Iron Maiden where they shine in composition and instrumentation

Phantom of the Opera

For you honestly, I probably recommend the cartoon band Dethklok.

#3 Posted by geniobastardo (1294 posts) -

@KHAndAnime: Oh yes I forgot to mention the subgenre metalcore, you know there are just so many metal genres out there. I also forgot to mention that I like Melodic Death Metal as well but so far only INSOMNIUM's and In Flames work has caught my attention. Thanks for the suggestions tho!

#5 Edited by GazaAli (22525 posts) -

The topic title is kind of an oxymoron lol

#6 Edited by Boddicker (2522 posts) -

Power Metal is basically known for its catchy/melodic choruses.

It's not for everybody, and I'm very particular about the PM bands I like.

Check out the first 2 Firewind albums (they switched lead singers after this) and early Dream Evil.

#7 Posted by geniobastardo (1294 posts) -
#8 Posted by lonewolf604 (8517 posts) -

Symphony of Destruction - Megadeth