How to deal with a narcissist in the family?

This topic is locked from further discussion.

crazyguy111

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By crazyguy111
Member since 2013 • 406 Posts

Hey my brother has a superiority complex which makes it nearly impossible to have long a conversation with him at times. When ever we talk, he usually begins to imply that i'm stupid and my grades are bad, or some times he tries to imply that he's taller than me (i'm about 5'10 and he's about 5'11".)

I find it nearly impossible to talk with him anymore because he just goes off topic and tries to insult me with out directly doing it. For example if we are talking a bit, he usually tries to argue, sometimes he randomly talks about he's "bigger" than me for no reason, sometimes he randomly talks about how my major is stupid (I major in finance in university) and how the college I go to sucks, or the high school I went to sucks. He insults my mom as well, since she is only college educated. I never heard him have a conversation with my mom since last year. He just insults/argues with her throughout the day. Though he is friendly with my dad and my sister since they both are very intelligent.

Also I know that all siblings fight, but he insults/argues with me to the point where I can't even talk with him anymore.

How to deal with this? Should I just give up trying to talk with him? Thoughts? He is 17 btw, and I am 19.

Avatar image for deactivated-598fc45371265
deactivated-598fc45371265

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 6

#2 deactivated-598fc45371265
Member since 2008 • 13247 Posts
@crazyguy111 said:

Should I just give up trying to talk with him?

Yes.

dommeus

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 3

#3 dommeus
Member since 2004 • 9433 Posts

@crazyguy111 said:

How to deal with this? Should I just give up trying to talk with him? Thoughts? He is 17 btw, and I am 19.

Wait til he grows up and stops being a dick (Y)