Going to Rome and need some advice

• 50 results

This topic is locked from further discussion.

Avatar image for deactivated-5b797108c254e
deactivated-5b797108c254e

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 44

User Lists: 0

#1  Edited By deactivated-5b797108c254e
Member since 2013 • 11245 Posts

So in a few days I'll be spending a week in Rome and since it's my first time there, I'd like to know if you guys have any advice on what to see. Just throw in anything you think might be nice to see (or that you enjoyed if you've been to Rome). Doesn't really matter what it is, from the obvious Sistine Chapel to hard-to-find crypts, I'm down for anything =D

Also, overall suggestions (like buying the ticket to the Vatican in advance =P) are appreciated.

Thanks in advance =)

EDIT: Also, photography is one of my hobbies and one I plan on doing while in Rome, so nice places to photograph get extra points ;)

judaspete

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 4

#2 judaspete
Member since 2005 • 7264 Posts

Don't go to the catacombs. The tour is short and disappointing. The Pantheon was my favorite landmark. Eat gelato after every meal.

jasean79

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

Reviews: 0

#3 jasean79
Member since 2005 • 2593 Posts

I will be visiting Rome this time next year (hopefully), and Greece. My brother is a teacher and every couple of years he and some others chaperone students for a 10-day trip to these two countries and he asked me to go along...and the best part? The trip is paid for! All I would need is money for food and souvenirs while I'm there.
He's done it a few times in the past, but this will be a first for me.

So, assuming I have a job and enough vacation by this time next year, I will be going. Perhaps at that time I will be asking you for advice on what to see while in Rome. :)

Forum Posts

Wiki Points

Followers

#4  Edited By deactivated-5b797108c254e