Functioning in our society with no social skills?

#1 Posted by Squeets (8184 posts) -

I made a thread before describing my disability and some people offered advice with regard to the issue at hand in that thread which was helpful at the time. Just wanted to ask for a little more advice on that subject.

In addition to being crippled and in a wheelchair, my entire life up to now has been marked by social rejection. When I was first forced into my wheelchair, the kids I grew up with didn't care much since they had always known me. Shortly after being confined to the chair, however, my family moved and my situation didn't go over so well socially speaking. No one in my new school wanted me around, no one wanted to know me, etc... I didn't care much at the time because I was 10, but that trend continued all through school; by the time I graduated high school I had no friends, I was excluded from everything, made fun of by many, etc...

This trend continued in college... No one wanted me around as being with me was embarrassing for them. Working with people in groups was awkward because I didn't have anything to talk about with them, etc.

This is all on top of the fact that my cancer (the treatment for it) destroyed my sex organs, so not only can I never father children, I can't even have sex. So as far as I can tell for my future, I can and never will be social and I can and never will have a significant other; nor do I have a reason to since nothing can come of any of it. All of that has led to me becoming rather bitter and I avoid social interaction where possible at this point and I am not receptive to the few people who actually make an effort to be nice. My prospects for finding employment are weak as well since any job is a social job at this point, and the importance of interviews and what not are higher than ever. I did very well in school, but that is rather irrelevant it seems.

So my outlook on life is pretty grim.