Building an eCommerce site for a small business

This topic is locked from further discussion.

#1 Posted by taiwwa (301 posts) -

I'm in the process of shopping for one. The first place I went was GoDaddy.com but I've heard some bad things about it and anyways, it's smart to shop around.

I'm not very good at web design. I just want to build a site that's like a lite version of newegg or tigerdirect, using some pre-built package.

Recommendations? I hear a few pitfalls include some hosting sites that help you design the site make it so the site itself is not portable outside of their servers. Also, the issue of security is a concern. 

I  wonder if anyone has built like a desktop application that acts sort of like a client manager for one of those websites. I mean, I'd readily buy a boxed piece of software that cost like $150 if it made building a website as easy as like Quicken makes taxes.

#2 Posted by Ernesto_basic (2123 posts) -

I'm in the process of shopping for one. The first place I went was GoDaddy.com but I've heard some bad things about it and anyways, it's smart to shop around.

I'm not very good at web design. I just want to build a site that's like a lite version of newegg or tigerdirect, using some pre-built package.

Recommendations? I hear a few pitfalls include some hosting sites that help you design the site make it so the site itself is not portable outside of their servers. Also, the issue of security is a concern. 

I  wonder if anyone has built like a desktop application that acts sort of like a client manager for one of those websites. I mean, I'd readily buy a boxed piece of software that cost like $150 if it made building a website as easy as like Quicken makes taxes.

taiwwa